Today at the Canada Games Sport for Life Centre, $22,500 in academic scholarships were presented to eleven high school students, eight university students, and four Manitoba coaches. The presentations included the Manitoba Foundation for Sport Scholarships, Bud Tinsley Sport Leadership Scholarship, Coaching Manitoba Bursaries, and Princess Royal Pan Am Scholarships.


Manitoba Foundation for Sport Scholarships
This year the Manitoba Foundation for Sports scholarships (MFFS) recognized the exceptional achievements of 18 student athletes. These athletes represent 10 towns/cities and 20 different sports.


$500 High School Scholarship Recipients

  • Jillian Marie Duncan, Winnipeg - Basketball/Volleyball/Track and Field
  • Olivia Sheldon, St. Rose du Lac - Baseball/Volleyball/Basketball
  • Alexa Jaworsky, East St. Paul - Artistic Gymnastics/Volleyball
  • Jayden Kyryluk, Winnipeg - Football/Rugby/Wrestling
  • Jamie Johnson, Arborg - Baseball/Volleyball/Cross Country/Badminton
  • Alex Knight, Winnipeg - Handball/Volleyball/Track and Field
  • Deborah Nkiasi-Kuku, Winnipeg - Basketball/Handball
  • Alix Tosh, Beausejour - Golf/Hockey
  • Makayla Dyck, Winnipeg - Ringette/Cross Country/Basketball/Soccer
  • Braedy Farmer, Oakbank - Athletics/Volleyball/Badminton/Baseball
  • Carson McComb, Brandon - Triathlon/Cross Country/Track and Field

$1000 University Scholarship Recipients

  • Mason Metcalf, Carman - Volleyball
  • Arnish Patel, Winnipeg - Badminton
  • Yonatan Orlov, Winnipeg - Baton Twirling
  • Emma Parker, St. Adolphe - Volleyball
  • James Wagner, Winnipeg - Basketball
  • Tyler Wilson, Birtle - Archery
  • Robyn Silva, Winnipeg - Swimming (Para)

Bud Tinsley Sport Leadership Scholarship
This scholarship was created in 2012 in memory of Robert (Bud) Tinsley, by his family and friends. The $500 scholarship recipient is selected from among the Manitoba Foundation for Sport scholarship recipients, based on the added criteria of leadership.

This year’s recipient is Jayden Kyryluk of Winnipeg. Through hard work, dedication, and fortitude, Jayden’s grade 12 average was 92%. He is attending U of M this fall to pursue a Commerce Degree. He was a member of Football Manitoba’s U18 team that went to national last summer and was named as a Top 50 player by CFC Canada.

Coaching Manitoba Bursaries
One male and one female each from Winnipeg and Rural Manitoba received a $500 bursary to be used toward their 2018-2019 tuition. The bursaries have been named after two special coaches in Manitoba: Silvio Sboto and Jeff Collins.

Silvio Sboto Memorial Rural Coach Award Female: Cynthia Cote from La Broquerie of Figure Skating attending Universitรฉ de Saint-Boniface
Silvio Sboto Memorial Rural Coach Award Male: Joben Smith from Foxwarren of Hockey attending University of Manitoba
Jeff Collins Memorial Winnipeg Coach Award Female: Lauren Jackman from Winnipeg of Gymnastics attending University of Manitoba
Jeff Collins Memorial Winnipeg Coach Award Male: Gee-ef Nkwonta from Winnipeg of Optimist attending University of Manitoba

Princess Royal Pan Am Scholarships
One male and one female high performance athlete enrolled in a post-secondary institution in Manitoba each received $3,000 today.


Female: Tegan Turner of Athletics attending University of Manitoba
Male: Arnish Patel of Badminton attending University of Manitoba

Also presented were the Manitoba Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association (MSSA) Jack Matheson Award which provides $750 to post-secondary students who demonstrate an interest in a career in one or more of the following careers: sports writing, sports broadcasting, sports media production or sports public relations. The award is named in honour of the late Jack Matheson, a former Winnipeg Tribune sports editor and CJOB radio broadcaster. He was one of the first in Manitoba to hire graduates of post-secondary education programs for jobs in the sports journalism field.

There were two winners of this year’s Jack Matheson award.

Taylor Allen is a Vince Leah intern for the Winnipeg Free Press, and he does freelance work in a weekly series termed Hall Call. He also has served as a Winnipeg Jets/Manitoba Moose Press Box intern on game days and he is the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame host for its weekly podcast. Allen was nominated for the best Journalism story by a first-year student in the RRC Creative Communications Media Awards in 2017, and was the recipient of the Don Wittman Memorial Award.

Declan Schroeder Schroeder has interned and produced web articles for TSN 1290, and worked on various audio features for the station. He is a sports columnist for the Projector newspaper at Red River College. Schroeder received an ‘A’ grade in Journalism in 2017, and also won the Eric and Jack Wells Excellence in Journalism award at RRC the same school year.

Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...