The MHSAA presented a number of awards over the past week to athletes, coaches and volunteers who have had exceptional academic and athletic achievements over the 2009-10 school year.  The sport of basketball was well represented with a number of its athletes and coaches being recognized.  Those receiving the MHSAA year end awards include...



Scholar Athlete Awards Presented



Scholar Athlete Award Winners 

L - R Don Hurton - President MHSAA, Sara Oswald, Her Honor Anita Lee,
Chole Reimer, Honorable Philip Lee, Kyle Hancock, Stephanie Kleysen, Mel
Edmunds (Credit Unions of Manitoba)


June 15, 2010  SCHOLAR
...... Four outstanding Manitoba high
school student athletes were recognized at a reception hosted by Lt.
Governor Philip Lee at Government House.  The four athletes received
Credit Union Scholarships with a value of $1000.00 each.  Almost 40
students were nominated from schools across Manitoba 

For more
information on the Scholar/Athletes click on this link


Athletes of the Year - "Super 8 -
Super 8" 


Home Runs Sports 

L-R Paige Murray, Brynna Walker,
Chloe Reimer, Stephanie Kleysen, Ben Allan, Evan Gill, Zach Beazley,
Dylan Thornborough 


 The Super 8  - Super 8  is a
collection of outstanding male and female athletes from across
Manitoba.  A male and female in each of the four categories were
recognized on June 28th.

 In the"A" Category, were Dylan
Thornborough and Paige Murray both of Glenboro Colleigate.  In the "AA"
Category, were Zachary Beazley from Killarney Collegiate and Brynna
Walker of Souris School.  In the "AAA" Category, Evan Gill of Churchill
High School and Chloe Reimer of Sanford Collegiate.  In the "AAAA"
Category, were Ben Allen of Kelvin High School and Stephanie Kleysen of
Vincent Massey Collegiate.


For more information click on the
following link


Josten's Athlete of the Year

Athletes of the Year Ben & Stephanie

 The Jostens 2010 Male and Female
Athlete of the year are from Kelvin High School, Ben Allen, and from
Vincent Massey Collegiate, Stephanie Kleysen.


For more information click on the
following link Josten's Athletes of the Year


Coach of the Year

Karl Wiebe Coach of the Year 2010

 On June 21st, at MHSAA AGM Awards
Presentations, Karl Weibe of Westgate Mennonite Collegiate, was awarded
with the Grey Cup Legacy - Coach of the Year Award.  Karl is seen here
with MHSAA President Don Hurton.  For further information click the
following link.   Karl Wiebe - Coach of the Year



Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...