Q:  After A1 shoots the ball, which is rolling around the rim and starts to enter the basket. A5 then goes up and pushes the ball down through the basket. Is the official correct on counting the basket?

A:  Yes, the offensive team can still play the ball

FIBA Rule:

31.2.4 Interference occurs when:

A Defensive Player touches the ball or the basket while the ball is within the basket, thus preventing the ball from passing through the basket.

Source: https://www.maboref.com/2023/02/offensive-basket-interference.html
Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...