The Canadian Basketball Officials Commission (CBOC) has shared a number of different awards and scholarships that are currently open for MABO members to apply for or submit nominations.  The deadline for all applications is September 30, 2021.  The details include...

Ted Earley Memorial Award

Ted Earley was one of CABO’s founding members. Ted was a native of London, Ontario and in 1974, along with Al Rae of Ottawa, attended a meeting of the Canadian Amateur Basketball Association at the invitation of Executive Director John Restivo. A follow-up meeting with representatives of each Province led to the formation of CABO. Ted Earley was appointed CABO’s first Chairman and with the creation of a constitution became CABO’s first President, a position he held until his death in 1978. Ted was inducted into the Canadian Basketball Hall of Fame in 1992.

Award Criteria

A maximum of one nominee may receive the Ted Earley Memorial Award in any given year. The nominee must meet the following criteria, which have been established for this, CBOC’s highest award:

  • Recognized as a superior floor official;
  • Has a significant number of years of service as a floor official with national and international exposure, including significant FIBA involvement as a licensed floor official or administrator;
  • Has performed varied forms of service to the basketball community, both provincially and nationally;
  • Has served in administrative and leadership roles both provincially and nationally; and
  • Has contributed in interpretive or educational capacities

John A. (Wink) Willox Award

Known to one and all as Wink, Wink’s contributions to Canadian basketball in general and in particular British Columbia basketball were enormous. A long-time member of the executive committee of the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials (IAABO), Wink was one of the founding members of CABO in 1974 and represented British Columbia until his death in August 1982. Wink was the first recipient, (posthumously) of CABO’s Ted Earley Memorial Award in 1984 and was inducted into the Canadian Basketball Hall of Fame in 1994. Award Criteria

In each year, a maximum of one candidate from each Province may receive the John A. (Wink) Willox Award. The candidate must meet the following criteria:

  • Good floor official as determined by local standards;
  • Significant length of service to the basketball community;
  • Various forms of service to basketball officiating organizations;
  • Contributions to basketball officiating in an administrative role.

CBOC Executive Award of Merit

Originally awarded to Harry Hus in 1987 the name of the award (and the criteria) were changed at the 2010 AGM to the CABO Executive Award of Merit. With the merger of CABO into CBOC the name of the award is now changed to the CBOC Executive Award of Merit and continued.

Award Criteria

In any given year, the CBOC Executive Award of Merit may be presented by the CBOC Executive Council to an individual who has made a significant contribution to CBOC.

  • The award is not necessarily awarded annually;
  • There could be more than one recipient in any given year; and
  • The award recipient does not have to be an official but must have contributed to officiating.

Ritchie/Nicurity Bursary

Bill Ritchie of Fredericton, New Brunswick, was CABO’s third President and served from 1979-85. He brought years of experience to the position as founder and long-time secretary treasurer of the New Brunswick Official’s Association. Bill received the Ted Earley Memorial Award in 1986 and was inducted into the Canadian Basketball Hall of Fame in 1996. Brian Nicurity of Regina, Saskatchewan assumed the presidency of CABO in 1985. By this time, the role of President could not be held for more than two successive terms, thus limiting his tenure to 1985-89. Brian received the Ted Earley Memorial Award in 1990 and was inducted into the Canadian Basketball Hall of Fame in 1996.

The purpose of the Ritchie/Nicurity Bursary program is to provide financial assistance to promising younger officials to assist in furthering their post-secondary education. 

Award Criteria

The recipients shall be selected from the pool of nominees based on merit, considering their officiating achievements to date, officiating potential, and academic standing. Recipients will be required to show the support of the Provincial Officials organization, including communication of support that provides information on the official’s achievements, contributions, and potential as an official.

Recipients are required to be enrolled full-time in a recognized university, college, technical, vocational or trade school in pursuit of higher education, either academic or job specific. Full-time meaning they are primarily a student in pursuit of knowledge or improvement. 

A maximum of six bursaries of $750 each shall be awarded in each year. Recipients may receive a bursary in more than one year, to a maximum of 4 years and all within in a 5-year period. A list of historic Recipients is maintained by CBOC / CB and the list of Recipients for the current and previous 3 years will be made publicly available through the CBOC website.

CBOC Camp/Clinic Attendance Bursary


Funding is available to officials who attend a Basketball Officials Development Camp or a Referee Training Clinic in a given year, where the primary purpose of the camp or clinic is learning and development, training, as opposed to a “hiring camp” such as those run by a professional league. An official may apply to recover up to 50% of their cost to attend the Basketball Officials Development Camp or a Referee Training Clinic. Costs included in the calculation are the enrollment fee, travel to the camp/clinic if in another City at least 100km from home and accommodation while at the camp/clinic. The minimum available to a successful applicant would be $100 and the maximum available to any one official would be $500. The maximum available to all officials from the same Province would be $500.

Preference will be given to camps using FIBA rules for play and instructing in FIBA philosophy, floor positioning and mechanics. Recipients may receive a payment in more than one year, to a maximum of 3 years in a given 5-year period. The focus shall be on officials identified as being in the High-Performance Pathway or in their first 3 seasons as an official with potential recognized at the local level. 

The deadline for all applications is September 30, 2021.


Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...