The Manitoba Basketball Hall of Fame is pleased to announce its induction Class of 2021. The official induction is scheduled to take place on Saturday, September 25, 2021 at the Victoria Inn in Winnipeg, health regulations permitting.  

Manitoba Basketball Hall of Fame



SHAWN GRAY – a native of Toronto who starred with the Brandon University Bobcats 1993-98; four-time GPAC All-Star; All-Canadian selection in 1997-98; led BU to a CIAU National Championship in 1996 where he was named a tournament all-star; played professionally in The Netherlands and Belgium 1998-2001  

JOANNE WELLS-SMALL – recruited from Halifax, Nova Scotia; played with the University of Winnipeg Wesmen, 2000-2006; 3-time CIAU/CIS All-Canadian; GPAC Rookie-of-the-Year in 2000-01; 4-time Canada West All-Star; Canada West Player-of-the-Year and Nan Copp Award winner as the National Player of the Year in 2004-05; averaged 21.3 points per game and 6.7 rebounds over her final three seasons


MANNY ARANEZ – founder and commissioner of the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA); the league was founded in 2001 with just seven teams and now features more than 114 teams with 14 divisions; often referred to as the Patriarch of Filipino Basketball; elected as the commissioner of the Filipino Basketball Association of North America, 2014-18.

RAY HURD – longtime high school coach,1971-93, in Killarney and Brandon; in Killarney he coached 46 teams at all levels (Varsity, JV & junior high, girls and boys) and also refereed; the Shamrock Classic tournament in Killarney was built into one of the best with teams from all over the province; Coach-of-the-Year in 1986 and MHSAA ‘AA’ Varsity Girls Provincial Champions in 1982

JOHN KLASSEN – started his coaching career in Altona and then moved to Garden Valley Collegiate in Winkler where he coached the Zodiacs for 23 years and won seven MHSAA provincial Championships and 14 Zone Championships; provincial Coach-of-the-Year in 1989-90; founded the Winkler Minor Basketball Association in 1993

RANDY KUSANO – one of the most successful high school coaches in Manitoba history; coached at Oak Park High School for 34 years where his Raider teams won 11 conference titles, three ‘AAAA’ MHSAA Provincial Championships and developed over 25 players who went on to play at the next level; Mike Spack Award recipient in 2010; started his coaching career at the University of Manitoba with the Junior Bisons; 25 years as an assistant coach with Bison men’s and women’s teams; coached many Basketball Manitoba summer provincial teams and mentored many young coaches.


 (founding school of the Gray Academy of Jewish Education) – Varsity Boys, 1982-83, 1983-84, 1985-86 & 1988-89, MHSAA Provincial ‘A’ Champions 

TREHERNE COLLEGIATE TIGERS – Varsity Girls, 1994-95,1996-97, 1997-98, 1998-99,
1999-2000 & 2002-03 MHSAA Provincial ‘A’ Champions 

More information is available from Ross Wedlake at (204) 668-9494 or at

For more information on the Manitoba Basketball Hall of Fame and Museum, please go to
Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...