Congratulations go out to Manitobans Kirby Schepp and Justus Alleyn who were both recognized on September 20th along with the Canadian National Team who were named the "Summer Team of the Year" as part of the Canadian Sport Awards.  Coach Schepp led the Canadian National Team and Justus was an integral part of the squad that took home a Silver Medal at the 2018 Commonwealth Games this past spring.

Their last-second win over New Zealand will go down as one of the classic moments in Canadian basketball history.  The clip can be seen below or at THIS LINK...

These awards were first established 45 years ago to showcase excellence in Canadian sport has evolved to become the premier event for national sport achievement and leadership recognition.  Kirby was on hand in Ottawa to receive the recognition on behalf of the team and Canada Basketball.

Full list of award winners:
  • Female Athlete of the Year (summer): Brooke Henderson
  • Female Athlete of the Year (winter): Kim Boutin
  • Partners of the Year Award (summer): Melissa Humana-Paredes and Sarah Pavan
  • Partners of the Year Award (winter): Scott Moir and Tessa Virtue
  • Male Athlete of the Year (summer): Damian Warner
  • Male Athlete of the Year (winter): Brian McKeever
  • Team of the Year (summer): Men's Commonwealth Games basketball team
  • Team of the Year (winter): Team Jennifer Jones
  • National Initiative Award: John Gallo
  • Athlete Rep of the Year: Iñ aki Gomez
  • Leadership in Sport Award: Michele O'Keefe
  • AthletesCAN Social Responsibility Award: Mark Tewksbury
  • True Sport Award: Jill Officer
  • Bruce Kidd Leadership Award: Chandra Crawford
  • Inclusion Award: Sami Jo Small and Billy Bridges
  • People's Choice Award for Performance of the Year at the 2018 Winter Olympic Games: Scott Moir and Tessa Virtue

Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...