The Manitoba High Schools Athletic Association has presented its Hall of Fame Class for 2016.  Six outstanding athletes, one team and three builders have been selected.  They were presented with their awards at a reception on May 28 at 11:00 am at the Holiday Inn South.

Basketball athletes that were inducted included Jeff Foreman of Windsor Park Collegiate (Basketball), Jon Hanec – Dakota Collegiate (multi-sport), Gail Winston Kendall of Grant Park High (Basketball).

Builders that were inducted included Bill Wedlake of St. John’s High School (Basketball) and Randy Kusano of Oak Park High School (Basketball).

Teams that were inducted were the Vincent Massey High School (Brandon) Basketball team from 1968-1971.

Athlete Bios:

Jeff Foreman of Windsor Park Collegiate (1989) led the basketball Royals to provincials in both the 1987-88 and 1988-89 seasons.  In the 1988-89 Provincials the Royals finished second, and Jeff was chosen Provincial MVP, and also chosen MVP at the Brit Tournament in Saskatoon that year.  Jeff went on to the University of Winnipeg where he was CIS All Canadian in 1992, 1993 and 1994.  In 1994 he was chosen CIS Player of the Year.  Jeff played for several years on the Canadian National Team and was a member of the silver medal winning University Games team in 1993, which were held in Buffalo.

Jon Hanec, a graduate of Dakota Collegiate was a multi-sport athlete excelling in Basketball, Volleyball and Athletics.  Jon was provincial All Star in both Volleyball (1991) and Basketball three straight years (1990, 91 and 92.)  In 1991 he led the Lancers to the Provincial Volleyball Championship and was a Provincial All-Star.  In 1992 Jon won basketball`s Carl Ridd award and Volleyball’s Dennis Nord Award.  That year he also won the Credit Union Scholar Athlete Scholarship and was the MHSAA Athlete of the year.  He was also a finalist for the MHSAA Athlete of the half century.  He continued on to the University of Manitoba where he played basketball from 1992-1995 and then Volleyball in 1998.

Gail Winston Kendall

Gail Winston Kendall of Grant Park High School played her first 3 years of University Basketball at the University of Manitoba (1974-75, 1975-76, and 1976-77) and her last two years at the University of Winnipeg ( 1977-78 and 1978-79).  In 1973 Gail lead her Grant Park Pirate team to the Provincial Championship were they won the “B” side.  Gail was a GPAC All-Star for five (5) straight years while at university, a CIAU (CIS) All-Star in 1978 and an All Canadian in 1979.  She played on the Canadian National Team from 1975 through to 1980.

Builders Bios:

Bill Wedlake of St. John’s High School spent 16 years at the school where he coached the Tiger’s basketball team.  Bill was president of MHSAA from 1987-1989 and co-founder of the Winnipeg Invitational Tournament, and President of Basketball Manitoba.  He was the National Basketball Commissioner with the Canadian School Sport Federation.  He is presently a member of the Manitoba Basketball Hall of Fame (2005) and the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame (2013).  Bill also spent 16 years at the University of Winnipeg where he coached and was Athletic Director.

Randy Kusano of Oak Park High School coached the Varsity Boys Basketball team for 31 years.  In that time he had more than 800 wins and a winning percentage of .789.  His teams appeared in 17 Final Four and 3 Provincial Championships (1989, 2007, and 2010).  His teams won more tournament championships than any other program in the city.  In 2007 Randy was named MHSAA High School Coach of the Year.  Randy was inducted into the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame as a member of the 1976 CIAU (CIS) Canadian basketball champions.

The Team which will be inducted are the Provincial Champion basketball squad from Vincent Massey High School in Brandon (1968-69, 1969-70, and 1970-71).  The team won consecutive Varsity Provincial “B” (schools outside Winnipeg) Boys Championships, under the guidance of the Coaches Terry Little and Barry Diller.

Front Row   (L to R) - Larry Kardash, Ted Jones, Gene Parks, Dwight Kearns
Middle Row (L to R) - Mike Kearns, Ken Roblesky, Randy Langstaff (Manager, Scott Clark, Don Moroz
Back Row    (L to R) - Mr. Terry Little (Coach), Doug Collister, Rod Lindenberg, Joe Burgess, Mr. Barry Diller (Coach)

Back Row (L to R) - Randy Langstaff (Manager), Jim MacDonald, Jack Langstaff (Manager)
Middle Row (L to R) - Murray Kulchyski, Jim Smallwood, Scott Clark, Grand McPhail, Doug Collister
Front Row (L to R) - Ken Roblesky, Mike Kearns, Mr. Terry Little (Coach), Mr. Barry Diller (Coach), Larry Kardash, Peter Bertram

Front Row (L to R) - Stu Clark, Mike Kearns, Scott Clark, Peter Bertram, Marty Kulchyski
Back Row (L to R) - Mr. Terry Little (Coach), Jack Langstaff (Manager), Rod Lindenberg, Ken roblesky, Elwood Kehler, Mr. Barry Diller (Coach)
Missing - Rick Kauk, David Peterson, Rod Zink 


Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...