Lena Wenke (picture above on the left) was a member of the University of Winnipeg Wesmen women's basketball team and was honoured with the award founded in her name in 2018. She was recognized as the inaugural winner of the Lena Wenke Courage Award and acknowledged Lena's return to the basketball court after being the victim of a vicious assault in Winnipeg in the spring of 2017.  The award, now referenced as the "Lena Wenke Courage Award," will be continued into the future to recognize others in the basketball community who have faced and overcome obstacles or challenges in their life while staying involved in the sport of basketball.


  • Lena Wenke, University of Winnipeg
  • Didi Deng, Kelvin High School
  • Matthew Marshall, Dauphin Regional School

  • Annika Goodbrandson, Lord Selkirk Regional
  • Lilly St. James, Westwood Collegiate
  • Orion Remoquillo, Garden City Collegiate
  • Kismayo De Michael, Dakota Collegiate

Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...