Embedded image permalinkCongrats to Amir Ali, Kerri Kuzbyt, Adam Kowalchuk & Taylor Thorkelssson for receiving a Sport MB Scholarship on September 20 where over $20,000 in academic scholarships
were presented to 10 high school students, 9 university students and 4
Manitoba coaches. The presentations included the Manitoba Foundation for
Sports Scholarships, Milt Stegall Scholarships, Bud Tinsley Sport
Leadership Scholarship, Coaching Manitoba Bursaries and Princess Royal
Pan Am Scholarships.

sport_mb.jpgManitoba Foundation for Sport Scholarships

This year the Manitoba Foundation for Sports scholarships (MFFS) recognized the exceptional achievements of 18 student athletes. These athletes represent 6 towns/cities and 13 different sports.



  • Paul Robson, Chair Sport Manitoba, Chair Manitoba Foundation for Sports

  • Ross Wedlake, Sport Manitoba Board Member, Manitoba Foundation for Sports Board Member

$500 High School Scholarship Recipients:

  • Taylor Gillespie - College Jeanne-Sauvé - Boxing & Rugby

  • Josef Hamraev - Nellie McClung Collegiate - Judo

  • Kerri Kuzbyt - Sisler High School - Basketball

  • Nicole McGlenen - St. Mary's Academy - Hockey

  • Tyler Mislawchuk - Vincent Massey Collegiate - Triathlon

  • Derek Oryniak - Miles Macdonell Collegiate - Curling

  • Jocelyne Robidoux - St. Claude School Complex - Broomball

  • Taylor Thorkelsson - Dakota Collegiate - Basketball

  • Chelsea Van Deynze - Ecole Somerset School - Hockey

$1000 University Scholarship Recipients

  • Amir Ali - University of Manitoba - Basketball

  • Mitchell Billinkoff - University of Manitoba – Table Tennis

  • Kevin Boreskie - University of Manitoba - Ultimate & Pistol

  • Carleen Kruschel - University of Winnipeg - Volleyball

  • Riley MacCharles - University of Manitoba - Triathlon

  • Nicholas McCaughan - University of Winnipeg - Volleyball

  • Taylor McVannel - University of Manitoba – Softball & Hockey

  • Taylor Pischke - University of Manitoba - Volleyball

  • Dane Pischke - University of Manitoba - Volleyball

Milt Stegall Scholarships

This scholarship increases the awards for the top graduating high school student entering a post-secondary institution to $1000, and the top student in their second or subsequent year in a post-secondary institution to $2000. Recipients of this year’s two Stegall scholarships have been selected from today’s foundation scholarship recipients.


  • Milt Stegall, Winnipeg Blue Bomber Alumni


  • High School - Taylor Gillespie - additional $500

  • University - Taylor Pischke - additional $1000

  • Link to all recipient bios can be found at the bottom of this email.

Bud Tinsley Sport Leadership Scholarship

This scholarship was created last fall, in memory of Robert (Bud) Tinsley, by his family and friends. The scholarship recipient is selected from among the Manitoba Foundation for Sport scholarship recipients, based on the added criteria of leadership.


  • Cindy Tinsley, Daughter


  • Taylor McVannel - additional $500

Coaching Manitoba Bursaries

One male and one female each from Winnipeg and Rural Manitoba each received a $500 bursary to be used toward their 2012-2013 tuition. The bursaries have been named after two special coaches in Manitoba: Silvio Sboto and Jeff Collins.


  • Mrs. Penny Sboto, Silvio's Widow

  • Bill Biehl, Coaching Manitoba Bursary Committee, representing Jeff Collin's family


  • Silvio Sboto Rural Coach Award Female - Brittany Stojak - Oakbank, Ringette

  • Silvio Sboto Rural Coach Award Male - Adam Kowalchuk - Gimli, Basketball

  • Jeff Collins Winnipeg Coach Award Female - Lea Romanchuk - Volleyball

  • Jeff Collins Winnipeg Coach Award Male - Ryan Munt - Volleyball

Princess Royal Pan Am Scholarships

One male and one female high performance athlete enrolled in a post-secondary institution in Manitoba each received $3,000 today.


  • Jeff Hnatiuk, President and CEO, Sport Manitoba


  • Female - Ashley Grose - University of Manitoba, Paddling

  • Male - Dane Pischke - University of Manitoba, Volleyball

Link to recipient summary list

Link to recipient bios


Sport Manitoba is a not for profit organization and the lead planning, programming and funding agency for the development of amateur sport in Manitoba. Located in the Sport for Life Centre, Sport Manitoba partners with over 100 organizations to deliver sport in our province and is responsible for programs including the Power Smart Manitoba Games, Coaching Manitoba, Team Manitoba, Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame & Museum, and KidSport. Services provided include the Sport Medicine Centre, Sport Performance Centre, and Sport Resource Centre.

The Manitoba Foundation for Sports Scholarship program administered by Sport Manitoba was established to support young athletes of Sport Manitoba partners, who continue to participate in amateur sport while pursuing a post-secondary education on a full time basis. The Manitoba Foundation for Sports Scholarship Program was established in 1992. The top applicant in each category is awarded the Milt Stegall Scholarship.

Bud Tinsley Sport Leadership Scholarship: In memory of Robert (Bud) Tinsley, his family and friends created a $500 scholarship to recognize a Manitoba student athlete who demonstrates similar leadership traits that were attributable to Bud. His numerous awards included: induction into the Winnipeg Blue Bombers Hall of Fame, the CFL Hall of Fame and four time inductee into the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame. The scholarship recipient is selected from among the Manitoba Foundation for Sport scholarship recipients, based on the added criteria of leadership.

Princess Royal Pan Am Scholarship Endowment Fund provides financial support for Manitoba's high performance athletes in their pursuit of excellence at the national and international levels of competition while serving as a tribute to commemorate the Manitoba visit of Her Royal Highness the Princess Royal in 1999. The Princess Royal Pan Am Scholarship awards two (2) scholarships per year valued up to $3,000 each to one male and one female high performance athlete enrolled in a post-secondary institution in Manitoba.

Silvio Sboto Memorial Rural Coach Award: Silvio Sboto was a dedicated and humble man who started learning judo in the late 50s after immigrating to Canada from his native Peru. He resided in Brandon for the last thirty years where he worked at the Seikeikan Judo Club. Silvio was the chair of the National Coaching Certification Program (NCCP) for Judo Canada. Silvio spent 10 years as an NCCP Theory Course Conductor and attained Level 4 NCCP status. He also had his 5th degree black belt and was a national ‘C’ referee in Judo.

Jeff Collins Memorial Winnipeg Coach Award: Jeff Collins’ expertise earned him a reputation as a coach’s coach. Jeff served as head coach and clinician for the Legion Athletic Camps at the International Peace Garden for 32 years. He was the convenor and co-meet director of the MHSAA’s provincial track and field champs from 1984 to 2001. Jeff attained his level 3 NCCP and also worked with world class special needs athletes. In 2003, Jeff was inducted to the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame.


Source: http://www.sportmanitoba.ca/news_view.php?id=519

Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...