Manitoba Basketball Hall of Fame

This was another challenging yet eventful and successful year for our Manitoba Basketball Hall of Fame and Museum (MBHOFM). The COVID-19 pandemic led to the closure of the Duckworth Centre at the University of Winnipeg for much of the last year. The following were the highlights:

  • the closure of our site saw the visitor count reduced to 3093, well below the usual number
  • our 18th Induction Dinner that was planned for September 25, 2021, was postponed and is re-scheduled for October 1, 2022. The following individuals and teams will be inducted :
    • PLAYERS: Shawn Gray and Joanne Wells-Small
    • BUILDERS: Manny Aranez, Ray Hurd, John Klassen and Randy Kusano
    • TEAMS
      • Joseph Wolinsky Collegiate Raiders Varsity Boys,1982-83,1983-84,
      • 1985-86; 1988-89
      • Treherne Collegiate Tigers Varsity Girls, 1994-95, 1996-97, 1997-98, 1998-99, 1999-2000; 2002-2003
  • the continued growth of our heritage inventory collection; this year we saw some new additions of uniforms and other memorabilia
  • the further organization of all printed materials and photographs in our collection with the use of labelled hanging folders and vertical magazine racks in a new storage cabinet
  • the first grant from our endowment fund through the Manitoba Heritage Trust Fund and the Winnipeg Foundation where we raised funds to ensure our long-term sustainability
  • we continued to qualify as a Level 1 Museum by the Community Museum Grants Program which results in an annual grant
  • revised induction guidelines and nomination applications
  • based on our involvement in a stewardship project with the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame, we now have a Collections Policy, an Incoming Loan Conditions Form, an Outgoing Loan Agreement Form, and a Gift Agreement Form
  • our continued membership in the Association of Manitoba Museums
  • our financial situation remains solid; we are committed to investing our revenues directly into our Hall of Fame site and the basketball community in general
  • Manitoba is still the only province in Canada that has a permanent site for a basketball hall of fame
  • Our MBHOFM is usually open every day during the year except for statutory holidays. It is open
  • from 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m. daily depending on the pandemic. 
  • The members of our organizing committee are: 
    • Ross Wedlake (Chair), Vic Pruden (Past Chair), Janet McMahon (Treasurer), Jerry Ilchyna, Wes Crymble, Morris Glimcher, Jerry Hemmings, Carol Ploen-Hosegood, Ken Opalko, Susan Johnson, Coleen Dufresne, Kyla Shore, Tyler Crayston, Ted Stoesz, and Adam Wedlake (Recording Secretary - Ex-Officio).
  • For 2022-23 the following are planned:
    • the creation of a third action photo collection depicting the history of basketball in Manitoba
    • further organization of our heritage collection and a connection to the MUSETOBA collections management database project system
    • repairs to our museum's floor surface
In conclusion, we need to mention the tremendous and continuing support we get from the University of Winnipeg and Basketball Manitoba. Our Hall of Fame and Museum would not exist without this support and the support of our extended basketball community.

Respectfully submitted by

Ross Wedlake, Chair, MBHOFM

Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...