Canada's largest basketball coaches clinic wrapped up on Saturday at the University of Winnipeg Duckworth Centre with a total of 250 basketball coaches attending over the 2 days.  Congratulations to Asami Kakuri of Tokyo, Japan (who travelled all the way to Winnipeg for the SCC), pictured above with coach Kirby Schepp, for winning the coaches trip to Las Vegas next spring!  

Cadin Dupasquier of Crossover Basketball Club took home the Team Prize pack (pictured to the right with Coach Brianna Finch) which included a set of Wilson basketballs, Wesmen and Bison season passes, Basketball Manitoba shirts, coaching resources and more.  

Bonus prizes of a Dr. Dish iC3 shot trainer went home to Loring Wiebe (pictured below with coach Brian McCormick) of Southdale Community Centre and a $300 Under Armour Gift Pack went to Ryan Kope (pictured below with coach Kirby Schepp) of the Jr Bisons Boy's Basketball Club.  

Presenting at this year's clinic were headliners Dave Love, Brian McCormick and Brianna Finch.  Joining them were local coaches Kirby Schepp and Gil Cheung.  Coaches Michele Sung (Hynes) and Sarah Lundgren hosted a special Women in Coaching session on Thursday night at the Canada Games Sport for Life Centre.  


All sessions were video-recorded and will be made available exclusively to all clinic attendees in the next 10 days. The videos will then be made public to all in the New Year.  The clinic attendees will be receiving an email on how to access the videos in the next 10 days on where the clinic videos and other documents can be accessed.

This weekend also saw Dave Love hosting his Basketball Shooting Camp with 50 young players on the Saturday at the Canada Games Sport for Life Centre.  Members of the Targeted Athlete Program (TAP) were on hand both days of the Super Coaches Clinic as on-court demonstrators who did a fantastic job working with the presenters and Basketball Manitoba would like to thank all program members!  Coaches Dave Love, Brian McCormick and Brianna Finch worked with all the TAP teams on Friday and Saturday evenings as well at the CGC.  

Of special note, there were 5 coaches who came all the way from Tokyo, Japan to take in the Super Coaches Clinic.  Pictured to the right with Basketball Manitoba's Executive Director Adam Wedlake is Tomoki Manabe, Asami Kakurai, Naoya Takahashi, Tomoya Hirohata and Haruna Mizisawa.

TAP Manitoba Teams with Coach Dave Love

TAP Manitoba Teams with Coach Brian McCormick

Basketball Manitoba would like to thank all clinic attendees for being with us all weekend and we hope you are able to take a number of new ideas back to your programs this season!

Full information on the clinic can be found at


Basketball Manitoba would like to thank and recognize the following groups who supported the SCC this year...
  • Winnipeg Wesmen
  • Manitoba Bisons
  • Winnipeg Minor Basketball
  • Peg City Basketball
  • Sport Manitoba
  • Coaching Manitoba
  • Grey Cup Legacy Grant
  • Boston Pizza
  • Under Armour
  • Dr. Dish
  • Rogers
  • Charleswood Roofing
  • Payworks
There were a total of 139 different schools and clubs represented at the Super Coaches Clinic including.  Basketball Manitoba thanks the following organizations for supporting the event!
  • Altona Basketball Club
  • Andrew Mynarski VC School
  • Anishinaabe Pride
  • Arthur A Leach School
  • Attack Basketball Club
  • Boissevain School
  • Calvin Christian Collegiate
  • Canadian Mennonite University
  • Carberry Collegiate
  • Carman Collegiate
  • Churchill High School
  • Collège Béliveau
  • College Jeanne-Sauvé
  • College Lorette Collegiate
  • College Pierre-Elliott-Trudeau 
  • Corydon Community Centre
  • Crocus Plains Regional Secondary School
  • Crossover Basketball Club
  • Dakota Collegiate
  • Dakota Community Centre
  • Daniel McIntyre Collegiate
  • Daniel McIntyre Collegiate Institute
  • Dauphin Regional School
  • East Saint Paul Community Club
  • École George-McDowell
  • Ecole Leo Remillard
  • Edward Schreyer School
  • Elmwood High School
  • Equipe Manitoba
  • Faith Academy Middle School
  • Faraday School
  • Fort Richmond Collegiate
  • Fusion Basketball Club
  • Garden Valley Collegiate
  • George Waters Middle School
  • Gimli High School
  • Gladiators Basketball Club
  • Glenboro School
  • Glenlawn Collegiate
  • Goose Lake High 
  • Gordon Bell High School
  • Grandview School
  • Greendell Community Club 
  • Hapnot Collegiate
  • Helen Betty Osborne Ininew Education Resource Center
  • Hugh John Macdonald School
  • Ignite Canada Basketball Club
  • Immanuel Christian School
  • Immigrant and Refugee Community Organization of Manitoba 
  • J. H Bruns Collegiate
  • John Taylor Collegiate
  • Jr Bisons Boys Basketball Club
  • Junior Bisons Girls Basketball Club
  • Kelvin High School
  • Kirkfield West Community Club
  • Lake St. Martin First Nations
  • Landmark Collegiate Institute
  • LaSalle Community Club
  • Linden Christian School
  • Linden Woods Community Centre
  • Lord Selkirk Regional Comprehensive Secondary School
  • Lorette Basketball Club
  • Magnus Eliason Recreation Centre
  • Manitoba Provincial Team
  • Maples Collegiate
  • Maples Community Center
  • Margaret Barbour Collegiate
  • Marion School
  • Miles Macdonell Collegiate
  • Morden Collegiate
  • Munroe Junior High
  • NACI Tigers
  • Niverville High School
  • Norberry-Glenlee Community Club
  • North Kildonan Community Centre
  • Northern Grizzlies Basketball Club
  • Northlands Parkway Collegiate
  • Oak Park High School
  • Oxford Heights Community Club
  • Parkland Elementary School
  • Parkside Sabres
  • Philippine Basketball Association Winnipeg
  • Pierre Elliott Trudeau Collegiate
  • Pine Ridge Elementary School
  • Portage Collegiate
  • Prairie Elite Basketball Academy
  • Prairie Mountain High school
  • Red River College
  • Red River Community Centre
  • River East Collegiate 
  • Roblin Park Community Centre
  • Rosenort School
  • Ryerson Boys and Girls Club
  • Sagkeeng Wolves
  • Sanford Collegiate 
  • Sargent Park School
  • Shaftesbury High School
  • Shaughnessy Park School
  • South Winnipeg Community Centre
  • Southdale Community Centre
  • St. John Brebeuf School
  • St. John's High School
  • St. John's Ravenscourt
  • St. Norbert Collegiate
  • St. Paul's Collegiate (Elie, MB)
  • St. Thomas Aquinas High School
  • Stanley Knowles School
  • Ste. Anne Collegiate
  • Ste. Rose School
  • Steinbach Christian School
  • Steinbach Storm Basketball Club
  • Stonewall Collegiate
  • Stonybrook Middle School
  • Sturgeon Heights Collegiate
  • Swan Valley Regional Secondary School
  • Targeted Athlete Program (TAP)
  • Tec Voc High School
  • Teulon Collegiate
  • The King's School
  • The University of Winnipeg Collegiate
  • Todd Macculloch Hoops School Basketball Program
  • Tokyo, Japan
  • Transcona Collegiate
  • Tyndall Park Community Centre
  • University of Manitoba
  • Valley Gardens Middle School
  • Vincent Massey Collegiate
  • W.C. Miller Collegiate 
  • Westwood Collegiate
  • Whyte Ridge Community Center
  • Winnipeg Alliance Basketball Club
  • Winnipeg Spirit Basketball Club
  • Winnipeg Sport and Social Club
  • Winnipeg Wildcats Basketball Club
  • Winnipeg Wolves Basketball Club
  • Winnipegosis Collegiate 
  • Woodlands School

Coach Dave Love

Coach Brian McCormick

Coach Kirby Schepp

Coach Brianna Finch
Coach Gil Cheung

Aaron Lange from Dr. Dish
Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...