Each year, Sport Manitoba’s annual Night of Champions presented by Manitoba Chicken Producers celebrates sports excellence in Manitoba. Included as this year's finalists include basketball's Emily Potter, Daniel Sackey and Niyah Becker.  

Emily completed her final year of basketball at the University of Utah, is a member of the Canadian National Team last summer and was invited to the WNBA Seattle Storm training camp in 2018.  Daniel was invited to the 2018 BioSteel All-Canadian Game and began his first year at Valparaiso University in Indiana.  Niyah was a member of the 4th place finishing Commonwealth Games Team in Australia, brought home a Silver Medal at the FIBA Americas Qualification Tournament in Mexico City and began her first year at the University of Utah in the fall of 2018. 

Manitoba is rich with countless remarkable sport people of all ages with amazing stories of success, service and dedication. There are young individual athletes and teams garnering national and international attention for their athletic abilities, volunteers of all ages dedicating their time to ensure a brighter, stronger amateur sport system in Manitoba, officials who guarantee decorum and fair play, and coaches who lead, develop, and mentor Manitobans who participate in sport. Held annually in the spring. 

THIS YEAR'S NOMINEES (achievements in 2018)

Manitoba Chicken Junior Female Athlete of the Year
Niyah Becker - Basketball
Raygan Kirk - Hockey
Anna Maidment - Volleyball
Brooke Mancusi - Horse Council
Marissa Naylor - Tenpin Bowling
Samantha Pfeil - Rhythmic Gymnastics
Meghan Stanger - Baton
Erika Vermette - Volleyball
Sarah Watson - Swimming

Manitoba Chicken Junior Male Athlete of the Year
Cody Glass - Hockey
Rob Law - Bowls Manitoba
Israel Potter - Tenpin Bowling
Yonatan Orlov - Baton
Daniel Sackey - Basketball

Labatt Open Female Athlete of the Year
Kaitlyn Lawes - Curling
Rhonda Orr - Golf
Emily Potter - Basketball
Jennifer Saunders - Racquetball
Kelsey Wog - Swimming

Nott Autocorp Open Male Athlete of the Year
Todd Fanning - Golf
Andrew Harris -Football
Mitch Hupe  - Tenpin Bowling
Patrick Lamont - Trap Shooting
Matthew Lehman - Table Tennis
Justin McDonald - Golf
Tyler Mislawchuk - Triathlon
David Onyemata - Football
Dennis Thiessen - Curling

Calm Air Junior Team of the Year
U15 Team Manitoba Team - Ball Hockey    
JT Ryan Team - Curling
U16 Angels - Ringette         
17U Junior Bisons - Volleyball       

Open Team of the Year
Team Jennifer Jones - Curling
Winnipeg Blue Bombers - Football          
Winnipeg Jets - Hockey
U of M Bisons Women - Hockey

Great-West Life Outstanding Volunteer
Ellie Ammazzini - Bowls Manitoba
Trina Bandura - KidSport
Chris Harbeck - Athletics
Murray Kissick & Sandra Ross Hitch - MB Games
Korny Loewen  - Volleyball
Marie Speare - Baton
Alex Sutherland - Curling
Dan Tereck - Tenpin Bowling
Rick Thain - Golf

Official of the Year
Eric Beauchesne - Speed Skating
Michele Grant - Water Ski
Rose Neufeld - Curling

Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...