Pictured left to right is Betty Butler (representing builder Dennis Alvestad), Doug McGregor  (19U Provincial Team coach), builder Wayne Ruff, Dave McNabb (Vincent Massey coach), Marg Cox (Kirstein) (Vincent Massey coach), Larisa Ens (Waschuk) (19U Provincial Team), Arlyn Adam (Filewich) (Vincent Massey) and builder Larry Marquardson  

The Manitoba Basketball Hall of Fame is pleased to announce its Class of 2017. Congratulations to our newest inductees. The official induction will take place on Saturday, September 30, 2017 at the Victoria Inn in Winnipeg.



  • John Cook – a native of British Columbia who played at UBC before coming to Winnipeg and playing for St. Andrews Dunlops Sr. Men’s team 1964-67 ; two-time league scoring champion and three-time all-star ; scored 49 points in one game ; member of the Canadian National team for the Pan American Games held in Winnipeg in 1967  
  • Deb Steele-Kretschmer – University of Winnipeg Wesmen 1977-80 ; CIAU/CIS All-Canadian in 1980 ; two-time GPAC All-Star ; set Wesmen records for scoring and rebounding ; member of the Canadian National team, 1976-80 ; won a bronze medal in the World Championships in South Korea in 1979 

  • Dennis Alvestad – head coach Dakota Lancers Varsity Girls 1975-1986 ; coached 4 ‘AAAA’ MHSAA Provincial Championship teams ; officiated basketball ; regular clinician providing leadership for younger coaches ; coach / supervisor for elementary school Bee Ball program ; died in 2013 and will be inducted posthumously
  • Michael Hill – co-coach for 23 years at Vincent Massey (Brandon) where they won three ‘AAAA’ provincial championships ; 12 years at Neelin High School and 6 provincial championships ; assistant coach Brandon University Bobcats. Manitoba Bisons women’s teams ; five-time provincial coach-of-the-year ; Mike Spack award winner
  • Larry Marquardson – coached for over 35 years at Sargent Park Jr. High School, Sisler and Earl Grey ; initiated a developmental league for those unable to make school teams ; founding member of the Winnipeg Invitational Tournament (WIT) ; 2012 recipient of the Mike Spack Award ; won over 20 Winnipeg junior and senior girls’ championships ; two-time provincial coach-of-the-year 
  • Wayne Ruff – coached at Elmwood, Glenlawn, John Taylor, Varennes, Minnetonka, George McDowell, University of Manitoba and University of Winnipeg ; coached two MHSAA ‘AAAA’ provincial championship teams at Glenlawn ; founding member of the John Taylor Piper Classic and the Golden Boy / Wesmen Classic ; as an administrator led in the development of strong school programs with qualified teacher-coaches   

  • Team Manitoba 19U Women's Provincial Team – 1991 National Champions 
  • Vincent Massey (Winnipeg) Trojans Varsity Girls – MHSAA Provincial ‘AAAA’ Champions 1982-83, 1986-87 and 1987-88
The event will also saw the official opening of the new Posters and Programs display showcasing over 30 such items reprinted and enlarged from the museum's extensive collection along with the addition of plate BK0001 added to the Hall of Fame collection as part of the new basketball licence plates that are now available to the public in Manitoba.

More information is available from Ross Wedlake, Chair, at (204) 668-9494 or rosswedlake@gmail.com.

For more information on the Manitoba Basketball Hall of Fame and Museum, please go to http://www.mbhof.com

Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...