• News Ticker

    April 22, 2016

    THIS WEEKEND: Lundgren, Grant, Darragh and Tataryn Lead Basketball Nominees for Manitoba Coaches of the Year

    Coaching Manitoba has announced the names of the coaches who have been nominated as part of their Coaching Manitoba Impact Awards.  Basketball sees 4 coaches up for the special recognition including Alyssa Grant who lead the Manitoba 15U Female team to a Silver Medal at the 2015 Canada Basketball National Championships.  Sarah Lundgen is up for the Peter Williamson award for her achievements in a Silver Medal at the Canada Basketball National Championships for the 17U Female Provincial Team in 2015.  Teulon Collegiate's Jason Darragh and Heather Tataryn are a nominee for the School System Peter Dick Award in recognition for an outstanding 2015 basketball season with the Saints.  Congratulations to all the Coaching Manitoba Impact Award 2016 Nominees:

    The CMIA celebration is Saturday April 23, 9:00am Regent Ave. Event Centre.  Tickets are available at:

    Fundamentals: Vince Leah Award

    • Gavin Young: Football (Brandon) 
    • Kevin Doerksen: Football (Brandon)
    • Neil Hansen: Football (Winnipeg) 
    • Janice Howe: Special Olympics- Athletics (Wpg)
    • Mary Montgomery: Para- Nordic skiing (Winnipeg) 
    • Ryan Fines: Baseball (Stonewall)

    Learn to Train: Dr. Jack Hunt Award

    • Niki Little: Softball (Winnipeg) 
    • Karen Williams: Para-Swimming (Winnipeg)
    • Alyssa Grant: Basketball (Winnipeg) 
    • Valerie Pelleck: Softball (Winnipeg)
    • Brent Lohmer: Special Olympics -Weight Lifting (Wpg) 
    • Costa Cholakis: Bandy (Winnipeg)
    • Daria Jorquera Palmer: Fencing (Winnipeg) 
    • Dave Little: Lacrosse (Lundar)
    • Earl Sobotkiewicz: Tenpin Bowling (Winnipeg) 
    • Emily Richard: Rhythmic Gymnastics (Wpg)
    • Jeff Bouchard: Baseball (Winnipeg)

    Train to Win: Peter Williamson Award:

    • Ayach Bounachada: Fencing (Winnipeg) 
    • Tom Clasper: Curling (Winnipeg)
    • Craig McCormick: Swimming: (Winnipeg) 
    • Dallas Ludwig: Diving: (Winnipeg)
    • Dwayne Gylywoychuk: Hockey: (Brandon) 
    • Gary Pallett: Triathlon: (Winnipeg)
    • Lori Henderson: Artistic Gymnastics: (Brandon) 
    • Rob Walker: Ringette: (Winnipeg)
    • Roger Garrod: Archery: (Oakbank) 
    • Sarah Lundgren: Basketball (Winnipeg)
    • Trevor Borland: Squash (Winnipeg)

    School System: Peter Dick Award

    • Donna Alexander: Volleyball - Grant Park Collegiate (Winnipeg)
    • Jason Darragh and Heather Tataryn: Basketball - Teulon Collegiate (Teulon) - pictured below
    • Shawna McDowell: Volleyball - Mennonite Brethren Collegiate Institute (Winnipeg)
    • Eric Vincent: Multi-sport: Sturgeon Heights Collegiate (Winnipeg)

    The Teulon Saints made to the final of the Sisler Spartans Classic, but lost to the host team 79-33. Back row: Coach Jason Darragh, Kyra Wiebe, Mikhaela Murray, Jessica Holod, Nicole Wiebe, Jade Ledochowski, coach Heather Tataryn. Front row: Britni Trombo, Mallory Osbak Meghan Osbak, Emily Trombo, Madelaine Green. (Submitted photo)

    Global News Active for Life Award

    • James Daly: Athletics (Winnipeg)

    Nominations are still being accepted for our International and 25 years of service awards at:
    • Website Comments
    • Facebook Comments


    Post a Comment

    Your feedback on this Basketball Manitoba article is welcome! Post your comments below and check back later to view other comments or replies!

    Item Reviewed: THIS WEEKEND: Lundgren, Grant, Darragh and Tataryn Lead Basketball Nominees for Manitoba Coaches of the Year Rating: 5 Reviewed By: Basketball Manitoba
    Scroll to Top