Basketball Manitoba hosted its 38th Annual General Meeting on Wednesday June 11 and the evening saw the transition of its Board of Directors to add 3 new members join the group for 2014-15.  Departing the Board after over 30 years of dedication is Rod Peppler.  Rod has contributed countless hours of commitment and dedication to the growth and development of basketball in Manitoba.  Some of the legacies he is leaving behind include the Junior Officials Development Program (JODP), the Officials Mentoring Program and the Basketball Manitoba Rural Referee Clinics.

Basketball Manitoba would like to thank Rod for everything he has done to grow and develop our game!

Also departing the Board is referee Neil Gottfred and coach Tanya McKay (who vacated the position prior to accepting the 17U Female Provincial Team position in February).  Thank you to Neil and Tanya for all your ongoing contributions to the sport of basketball!

New members of the board as nominated and elected by the Basketball Manitoba membership include these 3 individuals...
  • Jackie Anderson - Anishinabe Pride Basketball Club
  • Suki Chhoeun - Athlete Initiative Program
  • Glenn Matsumoto - Manitoba Association of Basketball Officials

The full Basketball Manitoba Board of Directors for 2014-15 will be...

  1. Ross Wedlake - President
  2. Darren Sampson - Treasurer
  3. Joe Di Curzio - Past President
  4. Trish Hallson - Director
  5. Kirby Schepp - Director
  6. Joel Themmen - Director
  7. Edwin Garing - Director
  8. Jackie Anderson - Director
  9. Suki Chhoeun - Director
  10. Glenn Matsumoto - Director

The meeting also saw the formal presentation of the 2013-14 Basketball Manitoba Audited Financial Statement and a number of other reports form the Directors and Staff.  All documents presented at the AGM can be found below.

To close the evening, the group openly discussed a number of issues currently facing the sport including age vs grade definitions, the new rules that have been proposed by FIBA for this fall and the FIBA floor markings.

The meeting was attended by representatives from...

  • Brandon University
  • University of Manitoba
  • University of Winnipeg
  • Manitoba Colleges Athletic Conference 
  • Manitoba High Schools Athletic Association
  • Winnipeg Minor Basketball Association
  • Manitoba Association of Basketball Officials
  • Manitoba Basketball Hall of Fame
  • Fort Garry Men's Basketball League
  • North American Basketball Association (NABA)
  • Anishinabe Pride Basketball Club
  • Jr Alliance Basketball Club
  • Jr Rebels Basketball Club
  • Manitoba Magic Basketball Club
  • Winnipeg Wolves Basketball Club
  • Basketball Manitoba Board of Directors
  • Basketball Manitoba Staff

Tanya McKay
Rod Peppler
Neil Gottfred

Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...