Check out today's collection of game scores from all levels of basketball in Manitoba...

Submit | Subscribe | Archives 

University Men's Game Results

47th Wesmen Classic

Dickinson State 69 Lakeland College 63 [7th Place Game]

Ty Ackelson (Dickinson State) 15 points

Emmanuel Jones (Lakeland College) 30 points – Player of the Game

The Dickinson State University Bluehawks picked up their first win of the Coca Cola Wesmen Classic with a 69-63 victory over the Lakeland College Rustlers. Ty Ackelson came off the bench to lead the Bluehawks in scoring with 15 points. The Rustlers were led by Emmanuel Jones who poured in a game high 30 points, including six-three pointers. The Rustlers went into the halftime break with a 37-25 lead but the Bluehawks outscored the Rustlers 44-26 in the second half togain the victory.

Brandon 77 Valley City State 59 [Consolation Final]

A.M. Benabdelhak (Brandon) 19 points

Russell Robinson (Valley City State) 16 points

Emerick Ravier (Brandon) – Player of the Game

The Brandon University Bobcats defeated the Valley City State University Vikings 77-59 in the
consolation final of the Coca Cola Wesmen Classic. A.M. Benabdelhak led the Bobcats with a game high 19 points, including four-three pointers. Emerick Ravier added 18 points and five rebounds. Russell Robinson led the Vikings with a double-double 16 points and 13 rebounds. Brandon had control of the game in the first half leading 49-27 at the halftime break and never looked back in the second half. This is the second consecutive Consolation Final win for the Bobcats. Brandon beat Keyano College in the 2012 Wesmen Classic.

Manitoba 89 Regina 82 [3rd Place Game]

Dan Penner (Manitoba) 23 points

Jeremy Zver, Travis Sylvestre (Regina) 14 points

Amarjit Basi (Manitoba) Player of the Game

The University of Manitoba Bisons finished in third place at the 47th Annual Wesmen Classic after defeating the University of Regina Cougars 89-82. Dan Penner led Manitoba with a double-double consisting of 23 points and 14 rebounds. Amarjit Basiadded 22 points, four assists and three-three pointers. Basi was named the Player of the Game. Jeremy Zver and Travis Sylvestre led the Cougars with 14 points each. Manitoba trailed at the halftime break 45-35 but rallied in the second half outscoring the Cougars 54-37 in the final 20 minutes, including 33 points in the final quarter. Manitoba had the advantage on the boards by a margin of 45-36.

Ottawa 81 Winnipeg 71 [Championship Final]

Johnny Berhanemeskel (Ottawa) 22 points

Steven Wesley (Winnipeg) 23 points – Player of the Game

The University of Ottawa Gee Gee’s won their first ever University Wesmen Classic title with a hard fought 81-71 victory over the Winnipeg Wesmen Monday evening at the Duckworth Centre. Ottawa was led by Johnny Berhanemeskel’s 22 points. Caleb Agada had a double-double 21 points and 14 rebounds. Terry Thomas also had a strong game finishing with 16 points and nine rebounds. Steven Wesley was the top scorer for Winnipeg finishing with a game high 23 points. Christopher Baxter finished with 16. Ryan Oirbans added eight points and and grabbed a team high nine rebounds. Winnipeg found themselves down early on in the contest as Ottawa jumped out to a 25-14 lead after the opening quarter and extended their lead even further after outscoring the Wesmen 22-10 in the middle frame to take a 47-24 lead into
the break. A determined Winnipeg team came out on fire in the second half and cut into the Ottawa lead after outscoring the Gee Gee’s 29-17 to trail 64-53 after 30 minutes. Ottawa managed to hold off the Wesmen in the final quarter and held on for the 81-71 victory.

Tournament All-Stars:

Jeremy Zver – Regina
Andre Arruda – Manitoba
Christopher Baxter-  Winnipeg
Caleb Agada – Ottawa
Steven Wesley – Winnipeg

Tournament MVP:

Johnny Berhaneemeskel - Ottawa

See all box scores, stat leaders and more at

More scores at     Watch live CIS webcast games...

Full game reports can be found at, and

University Women's Game Results

Halifax Tournament

Manitoba 71 Dalhousie 69

More scores at     Watch live CIS webcast games...

Full game reports can be found at and

Varsity Boy's Game Results

47th Wesmen Classic

John Taylor 78 Sturgeon Heights 61 [Consolation Final]

Zachary Giesbrecht (John Taylor) 25 points – Player of the Game

Roan Van Eerd (Sturgeon Heights) 22 points

The John Taylor Pipers defeated the Sturgeon Heights Huskies 78-61 in the High School Boy’s
Wesmen Classic Consolation Final. Zachary Giesbrecht led the Pipers with 25 points,  including four-three pointers. Mike Seidu had a strong game for John Taylor finishing with 20 points. Roan Van Eerd led the Huskies with 22 points. The Pipers went into the halftime break leading 37-28.

Oak Park 103 Kelvin 95 [OT] [3rd Place Game]

Will Sesay (Oak Park) 29 points – Player of the Game

Liam Haime (Kelvin) 27 points

The Oak Park Raiders captured third place at the High School Boy’s Wesmen Classic with a dramatic 103-95 overtime victory over the Kelvin Clippers. The two teams were deadlocked at 87-87 after regulation time. The two teams were close at the halftime break with Oak Park clinging to a 43-41 halftime lead. Grade 11 guard William Sesay led the Raiders with a game high 29 points. He wasnamed the Player of the Game for the second time in this year’s tournament. Kelvin was led by Liam Haime’s 27 points, including a trio of three-pointers.

Garden City 88 MBCI 83 [Championship Final]

Jowel Shuffler (Garden City) 36 points

Torrez McKoy (MBCI) 30 points

Arel Cansino (Garden City) 26 points – Player of the Game

The Garden City Fighting Gophers Captured their fourth consecutive High School title at the Wesmen Classic with a dramatic 88-83 victory over the MBCI Hawks Monday night at the Duckworth Centre. The title by Garden City is their sixth in the past seven years and gives them seven overall High School Wesmen Classic Championships. Jowel Shuffler led the Fighting Gophers with 36 points. Arel Cansino added 26, including five-three pointers. Torrez McKoy led the Hawks with 30 points. Derek McKnight finished with 20. A tight contest from the beginning the Fighting Gophers led 44-39 at the halftime break. The Hawks cut into the deficit on many occasions in the second half only to have the Fighting Gophers fight off all challenges to make the final score 88-83.

Tournament All-Stars:

William Sesay – Oak Park
Ivan Paskvalin – Kelvin
Byron Oduca – Garden City
Derek McKnight – MBCI
Torrez McKoy – MBCI

Tournament MVP:

Jowel Shuffler – Garden City

See all box scores, stat leaders and more at

More at

Connect with us...

TwitterFacebookYouTubeGoogle PlusInstagramVimeoPinterestScoreboard iOS AppScoreboard Android AppScoreboard Amazon Kindle AppLinkedInTumblrRSS Feed

Subscribe to the nightly SCOREBOARD email to never miss another score!

Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...