The University of Winnipeg Wesmen 1992-1995 Women's Basketball Teams were officially inducted into the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame on Saturday November 3. The induction dinner took place this past Saturday evening at the Victoria Inn in Winnipeg.  The three-time CIS National Champions tied a North American college record with 88 consecutive wins (Oct. 1992 – Nov. 1994). The record was previously held by John Wooden’s UCLA Bruins Men’s Basketball team in the early 1970’s.  Head coach Tom Kendall, a three-time CIAU Coach of the Year during that period, assembled power house teams that included the likes of three-time Player of the Year Sandra Carroll and two-time All-Canadian Andrea Hutchens.  The team was selected as the Manitoba Sportswriters and Sportscasters Team of the Century. The 1995 team was inducted into both the Canadian and Manitoba Basketball Hall of Fames.  WATCH VIDEO OF INDUCTION...

“Those were special teams that were a treat to watch. All of the ingredients came together in a magical way during that time. We are extremely proud of their accomplishments and this honour”, said University of Winnipeg Athletic Director Doran Reid.
The 2012 Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame Induction Dinner will take place on Saturday, November 3rd at the Victoria Inn. 
Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...