2012-Wesmen-Hall-Induction.jpgThe morris-glimcher.jpgManitoba Sport Hall of Fame today announced that its Class of '12 will include the 1992-95 University of Winnipeg Wesmen Women's team.  The team was a three-time Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS) Champions in 1993, ’94, and ’95.  In 1995, the Wesmen tied the North American women’s record with their 88th consecutive win. The record-breaking team was selected as the Manitoba Sportswriters and Sportscasters Team of the Century. The 1995 team is in the Canadian Basketball Hall of Fame and in 2007 joined the Manitoba Basketball Hall of Fame.  Present (and pictured) at the announcement from the team was (L to R) Pam Danis (Flick), Larisa Waschuk, Marnie Minkus (Nechwediuk), Jody Rock, Sandra Corby, Jennifer How and Michelle Foreman (Chambers).  Joining the Wesmen team is another long time supporter of basketball in Manitoba in Morris Glimcher.  Serving as the Executive Director of the Manitoba High School Athletics Association since 1975 to the present day, Glimcher has also been a driving force for the sport of Bandy in our province and in Canada as a whole. He has also been involved in major multi-sport games as a volunteer and many different sports have benefited from his hard work and organizational skills.  The MSHOF induction will occur on November 3, 2012 in Winnipeg.  More information on the induction can be found at...

Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame Logo

WINNIPEG, Man. – This year’s individual recipients include a Vezina Trophy winner, a legend in the world of high school sports administration, a world champion in sailing, a multiple Olympian from speed skating, a Calgary Stampeder legendary lineman, an Olympian from softball and a coach and mentor from the U.S. College hockey ranks.

On November 3, 2012, five athletes, two builders and two teams will be inducted into the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame at the 33rd Annual Induction Ceremonies. The 2012 inductees are:

  • Ed BELFOUR / Athlete / Hockey

  • Morris GLIMCHER / Builder / All Round

  • Kelly HAND / Athlete / Sailing

  • Michael IRELAND / Athlete / Speed Skating

  • Harry LANGFORD / Athlete / Football

  • Sandy (NEWSHAM) MASKIW / Athlete / Softball

  • Grant STANDBROOK / Builder / All Round

  • 1978 & 80 University of Manitoba Bisons / Team / Volleyball

  • 1992-95 University of Winnipeg Wesmen / Team / Basketball


1994-95 Winnipeg Wesmen

1994-95:  (Back row l. to r.) Craig Kennedy (assistant coach), Carla Lenz (assistant coach), Jennifer How (manager), Sandra Corby, Anna Weber, Heather Corby, Lynette Lafreniere, Lara Asplin, Jodi Rock, Keith Pruden (assistant coach), Gail Kendall (assistant coach), Tom Kendall (coach). (Front row l. to r.) Natalie McVicar, Tracey Peter, Pam Flick, Sandra Carroll, Andrea Hutchens, Marnie Nechwediuk, Andrea Pales, and Nicole Jonker.

1992-93: Sandra Carroll, Michelle Chambers, Pam Flick, Jody Rock, Andrea Hutchens, Diane Zunic, Heidi Rowley, Sheri Telke, Larisa Waschuk, Sandy Corby, Sarah Meyers, Jennifer How (manager), Keith Pruden (assistant coach), Gail Kendall (assistant coach), Tanya Mckay (assistant coach), and Tom Kendall (coach)

1993-94: Sandra Carroll, Pam Flick, Jody Rock, Andrea Hutchens, Heidi Rowley, Larisa Waschuk, Sandy Corby, Nicole Jonker, Tracey Peter, Andrea Pales, Marnie Nechwediuk, Keith Pruden (assistant coach) Gail Kendall (assistant coach), Carla Lenz (assistant coach), Jennifer How (manager), Patti Burak (trainer), Tom Kendall (coach). 



Tickets for the Induction Dinner go on sale August 1, 2012. Ticket and event information can be found at: http://www.sportmanitoba.ca/inductionceremonies  

The Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame and Museum has inducted 450 members since it was established in 1980. “These nine recipients join an exclusive group of Manitoba’s finest in sport,” says Don Pincock, President of the Hall of Fame’s Board of Directors. “We strive to preserve, celebrate and showcase the history and heritage of sport excellence and achievement and these seven individuals and two teams have earned their place in Manitoba’s sport history. It is an exceptional slate for 2012.”

Bios and photographs for the class of 2012 are available. Please contact Sport Manitoba’s Sport Heritage Manager, Rick Brownlee – contact information provided below.

Introducing a New Logo

The Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame unveiled a new logo to celebrate the beginning of a new era with the planned opening of a new Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame gallery on the main floor of the Sport for Life Centre.  "The new logo emphasizes the pride we have in our province and celebrates the building at 145 Pacific as the new home of Manitoba sport history" said Rick Brownlee.

The Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame is a registered charitable organization managed by a volunteer Board of Directors. Its mandate is to preserve, celebrate and showcase the history and heritage of sport excellence and achievement in Manitoba.

Sport Manitoba is a not for profit organization and the lead planning, programming and funding agency for the development of amateur sport in Manitoba. Located in the Sport for Life Centre, Sport Manitoba partners with over 100 organizations to deliver sport in our province and is responsible for programs including the Power Smart Manitoba Games, Coaching Manitoba, Team Manitoba, Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame & Museum, and KidSport. Services provided include the Sport Medicine Centre, Sport Performance Centre, and Sport Resource Centre.


For more information contact:

Rick Brownlee

Sport Heritage Manager

Sport Manitoba

w. 925-5736

c. 612-7272



Tara Skibo

Communications/Public Relations Officer

Sport Manitoba

w. 925-5735

c. 781-6782


Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...