The Manitoba Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association in partnership with Basketball Manitoba is proud to recognize one outstanding male and one outstanding female grade 12 student who best meets the standards Ron Meyers set as a leader in the community. The MSSA will be recognizing this achievement with a $500.00 scholarship to a male and female recipients to be used towards a recognized post-secondary institution the following year. All grade 12 basketball players in the province are welcome to apply including from the A, AA, AAA and AAAA levels.

Basketball Manitoba is grateful to the MSSA and their support of this special recognition in Ron's name.  

Past Ron Meyers Leadership Award Recipients

           Year     Recipients
  • 2021 - Luke Janzen & Audry Fortunato
  • 2020 - Hubert Sindikubwabo & Megan Vermeersch
  • 2019 - Stefan Buchsmann & Lauren Bartlett
  • 2018 - Logan Nyman & Yasmin Banares
  • 2017 - Matthew Yaworsky & Jessica Edel
  • 2016 - Colin Schroeder & Keylyn Filewich
  • 2015 - Mason Metcalf & Rhianna Nelson
  • 2014 - Cole Friesen & Taylor Leonzio
  • 2013 - Matthew Brown & Lauren Wiebe 
  • 2012 - Matthew Gillis & Allison Baergen  
  • 2011 - Kevin Braun & Melanie Edel 


Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...

Post a Comment:

0 comments so far. add yours below...

Your feedback on this Basketball Manitoba article is welcome! Post your comments below and check back later to view other comments or replies.