Manitoba’s Basketball Best Honored at Athletes Wear All-Star Banquet (April 19, 1999)

The following awards were presented at the 1999 Athletes Wear / Manitoba Basketball Coaches Association All-Star Banquet on Saturday April 17 at Tec Voc High School.  Prior to the banquet the AAA, AA, A Graduating All-Star Games tipped off featuring the top Manitoba basketball players in those respective levels.  The girl’s game saw the North take on the South at the Daniel McIntyre Collegiate Gymnasium at 11:00 AM with the South taking the game 74-71.  Courtney DeSpiegelaere (Treherne), Lisa Bodnarus (Teulon) and Kirsten Davies (Neelin) were all named the Player of the Games and MVP respectively.  At 1:00 PM, the boys game saw the North triumph, 103 - 82 over the South.  POG for the North was Mark Loeppky of Garden Valley Collegiate (Winkler) and Lonnie Duncan of Norway House (South) picked up the MVP honors.

Following the Banquet was the AAAA Girls & Boys games showcasing the AAAA Graduating All-Stars from Winnipeg and Brandon.  In the girls game, the South bettered the North, 69 - 66.  Player of the Game was Michele Edwards of Fort Richmond Collegiate and Ryanne Schaefer of Garden City Collegiate was awarded as MVP.  The boy’s game saw the South squeak out the win 84-81.  Top performers were MVP Renold Marcelline (Kelvin) and POG Jory Smith (John Taylor). 

Each Player of the Game received a $50 gift certificate donated by Athletes Wear Co. and each Game MVP received a pair of NIKE basketball shoes, provided by NIKE Canada Ltd.  The MBCA would like to thank Athletes Wear, NIKE, Spalding, Basketball Manitoba, Brad Purpur, Daniel McIntyre Collegiate, Greg Bouchard and Tec Voc High School for their support over the weekend!

University Camp Scholarships

                Grade 9                Junior Varsity

Brandon University        Robert Prevost - RD Parker        Brad Brown - RD Parker

Presented by Don Thomson    April Rey – Neelin High School    Melissa Ryan - RD Parker

University of Manitoba    Charles Brake – Charleswood        Darcy Cross - Jeanne Sauve

Presented by Coleen Dufresne Claudia Agular - St George's    Sopear Chinn – Gordon Bell

University of Winnipeg    Brian Manila – Sargent Park        Glenne J. Manlig - DMCI

Presented by Ross Wedlake    Mila Fernandez - Sargent Park    Aimee Jones - River East

Boys All-Manitoba Team                Girls All-Manitoba Team

Tosin Opanubi – Kelvin High School                Anna Drewniak – St. Mary’s Academy

Renold Marcelline – Kelvin High School            Diana Gray – JH Bruns Collegiate

Ryan Dulder – Dakota Collegiate                Lee Wedlake – River East Collegiate

John Lundgren – John Taylor Collegiate                Marsha Murdock – Oak Park HS

Matthew Davis – Tec Voc High School                Kirsten Davies – Neelin HS

                                                                       Jessica McDonald – St. Mary’s Academy

Players of the Year

AAAA Boys – Tosin Opanubi – Kelvin High School

AAAA Girls – Anna Drewniak – St. Mary’s Academy

AAA Girls - Kirsten Davies – Neelin High School

AAA Boys - Kyle Davis - St. John's Ravenscourt

AA Boys - Chris Friesen – Killarney High School

AA Girls –Jody Jury – Neepawa Collegiate

A Boys - Sheldon Dyck – Boissevain High School

A Girls - Courtney DeSpiegelaere – Treherne

MBCA Service Awards

25 Years - Bob Reid

20 Years - Jim Hoger

Coaches of the Year 

Level            Boys                        Girls

Jr. High             April McKnight – Selkirk            Bill Smith - Westdale

Junior Varsity         Chris Young – Kelvin                Christine Penner - Sisler

A             Rick Scott – Glenboro                Jim Hoger- Treherne

AA            Brian Hendrickson – Killarney            Kerri Hayhurst - Neepawa

AAA            Ritchie Jacobson – Neelin            Mike Hill - Neelin

AAAA             Randy Kusano - Oak Park            Deb May - St. Mary's

Open             Jerry Hemmings – Brandon            Colleen Dufresne - U of Manitoba

MBCA University Bursary

    A $250.00 scholarship award presented annually to a female and a male player entering a post secondary educational institute.

Larissa Puttaert - River East                      Marsha Murdock - Oak Park

Jim Bulloch Coaching Awards – presented by Jim Bulloch Jr.

These awards are awarded annually to allow Manitoba basketball coaches to upgrade his or her knowledge and expertise in basketball, which will directly impact on player and program development.

1. Stephen Tackie – Silver Heights Collegiate    2. Jennifer Hall –River East Collegiate

Carl Ridd Award – presented by Carl Ridd

    Awarded annually to a male and female graduating player who demonstrates outstanding achievements in basketball, academics and citizenship.  A $250.00 scholarship is awarded to each athlete.

Boys - Ryan Dulder – Dakota Collegiate        Girls - Anna Drewniak - St. Mary's Academy

Mike Spack Coaching Award – presented by Pam Danis

    Awarded to a Manitoba basketball coach who has dedicated their lifetime to develop the sport throughout the province at all levels of the game.

Mike Hill – Neelin High School

Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...