Canada Basketball and the Canadian School Sports Federation (CSSF) have
awarded $500.00 scholarships to five graduating Manitoba high school
basketball players, to further their education at a Canadian
post-secondary institution. Applicants were scored on academic success, leadership and achievement
in basketball, as well as on the basis of school and community
involvement.  Selection was based on individuals that best exemplified
the ideals of the student athlete and who are continuing their
post-secondary education in Canada. The 2007-2008 Canada Basketball/CSSF Scholarships winners are...


Morgan Cross of Fort Richmond Collegiate, Karen Oswald of Oak Park High School, Sterling Nostedt of Neelin High School, Justin Roper of Oak Park High School and Robyn Small of Treherne Collegiate

Robyn Small
of Treherne Collegiate was selected to the Graduating All-Star team, was  MHSAA Provincial All-Star and silver medalist.  She is the student council treasurer, a peer helper, member of Teens Against Drinking and Driving, Treasurer for the Grad Committee, on the Teacher Advisory Committee.  Robyn also participates in badminton, track, Drama Club and Choir. 

Sterling Nostedt
of Neelin High School in Brandon was recognized with numerous All-Star and MVP selections at tournaments throughout the season, capping it all off by being selected as the MVP at the “AAA” Provincial High School Basketball Championships.  Sterling has been the venue Manager for the Spartan Digg for the last three years, is a clinician and coach for the Westman Junior Development Program and is a coach and clinician for the Min Spartans.

Morgan Cross
of Fort Richmond Collegiate was an All-Star on the Centurions 2007 “AAAA” Provincial High School Basketball  Championships, and was also selected as an all-Star in the Lethbridge and St. Mary’s Academy tournaments this season.  Morgan is also involved with the Grad Auction, Fashion Show, Car wash, Decorating Committee, Dinner and Safegrad.  She scorekeeps for basketball, volleyball and intramurals and coaches aged 12-13 girls and 10 year old boys club teams.

Justin Roper
, captain of the Oak Park Raiders Varsity Boys Basketball team, was selected MVP at the Piper Classic and Great Raider Shootout and was an All-Star at the Brandon Sun, Wesmen and WIT tournaments as well as the “AAAA” Provincial High School Basketball Championships. Justin is the #3 ranked player in the province.  He is a member of the Oak Park Youth Philanthropy group, Athletic Council, has assisted in the Oak Park celebration of excellence in athletics and arts and served as a tour guide for their Open House.

Karen Oswald
of Oak Park High School was Captain of the Raiders Varsity Girls Team, assistant Captain of the Hockey and track teams, and a member of student Council.  She was Oak Park’s Starting Point guard and was selected to the Graduating All-Star Team.  Karen is Co-Chair of the Special Events Committee, a member of the Athletic Committee and the Youth in Philanthropy Group.  She also coaches basketball with the WMBA and track at River Park West School.


Funding for these scholarships is from Canada Basketball and is coordinated through the Canadian School Sports Federation, and MHSAA.

The Awards were presented by Morris Glimcher of Winnipeg, who is the President of the Canadian School Sport Federation.

The Inaugural Garett Lee Sidor Memorial Scholarship of $500.00 was also presented.  Garett Sidor, who played for Windsor Park Collegiate, was selected as an All-Star in the 2007 Provincial “AAA” Basketball championships that Windsor Park won.  Garett tragically passed away on May 13, 2007.  Friends and family have come together to establish a scholarship in his honour.  Sterling Nostedt of Neelin High School is the winner of the first Garett Lee Sidor Memorial Scholarship.

The Manitoba High Schools Athletic Association is a voluntary not-for-profit organization that coordinates school sport in the province.  Over 25,000 student athletes and 2,000 volunteer teacher coaches comprise the association that hosts almost 50 provincial championships.


For further information, contact:

Morris Glimcher

925-5641 (work)


Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...