The True Sport Foundation today announced its call for nominations for
the 35th Canadian Sport Awards (CSA).  The nomination period  closes on
January 18, 2008 and will recognize excellence in sport in 2007.  The
official nomination forms are available at


“The Canadian Sport Awards are the definitive recognition event for sport in Canada,” said Victor Lachance, Executive Director of the True Sport Foundation. “For 35 years, this event has honoured the nation’s leading athletes, teams, leaders and businesses for their expertise and contribution to Canadian sport. Now is the time for sport organizations, media and the general public to nominate their sport heroes for this year’s Canadian Sport Awards,” said Mr. Lachance.


Finalists for each CSA award will be announced in February 2008.  Winners will be announced at the official gala awards ceremony in Winnipeg, Manitoba.


Established in 1972, the Canadian Sport Awards brings together leaders from the sporting and corporate communities who represent the pinnacle of commitment and competition: Canadian amateur athletes, coaches, sport leaders and volunteers. The annual event promotes sporting excellence across Canada, and reminds Canadians how sport lifts the human spirit. It is a tribute to the hard work, the dedication and the victories of our country’s finest athletes.


The 35th Canadian Sport Award categories are listed below, followed by a list of athletes, teams and corporations honoured for each award in 2006.



  • Male Athlete of the Year; Female Athlete of the Year; Junior Athlete of the Year; Team of the Year; Partners of the Year.


  • The Leadership Awards category recognizes and celebrates an individual’s outstanding contribution to the betterment of sport.

  • Athlete Leadership Award; Volunteer Achievement Award; Leadership in Sport Award; Coach of the Year


  • The Corporate Excellence Award recognizes and celebrates corporations that provide outstanding support to Canadian sport.


  • The Investors Group Spirit of Sport Story of the Year Award recognizes a Canadian hero who, in the pursuit of sporting excellence, has demonstrated values such as dedication, perseverance, sportsmanship, respect for others and a true love of sport.


Nomination Eligibility

  • Any Canadian citizen can nominate an individual, team or corporation for the Canadian Sport Awards.  Individuals and corporations can also self-nominate.  Eligible entries are for performances or contributions from January 1, 2007 through to December 31, 2007.

  • Submissions must be received at the True Sport Foundation no later than 5:00 p.m. E.S.T., January 18, 2008.  Late submissions will not be accepted. Completed ORIGINAL submissions should be sent to:


True Sport Foundation

CSA Selection Advisory Committee

350-955 Green Valley Crescent 

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada  K2C 3V4



About the True Sport Foundation

The True Sport Foundation is a charitable organization committed to ensuring that sport makes a positive contribution to Canadian society. Managed by the Foundation, the Canadian Sport Awards boasts a strong relationship with its modern day founding partners, which include Athletes CAN, the Commonwealth Games Association of Canada, the Canada Games and the Canadian Centre for Ethics in Sport.  For more information about the Canadian Sport Awards, please visit



For complete nomination rules and guidelines, and more information about the Canadian Sport Awards, please visit

Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...