The Basketball Manitoba membership elected a slate of 10 volunteers to serve for a two year term on its Board of Directors for 2007-08 and 2008-09.  The new person joining the Board is Don Lamont who replaced Maureen Orchard as a Director.  All member associations including the WMBA, MBCA, MABO, WSWBL, WAAY, Lipenos, Super Men's League and other member clubs consisting of 5 or more teams are given the opportunity to vote at the AGM.  

All Members of the Basketball Manitoba Board of Directors are
responsible for upholding its Mandate and the statements appearing in
the Constitution. Each member holds one vote when present at an
official meeting of the Board of Directors with exception to the
President who only votes in the case of a tie. Members of the Board
attend monthly meetings (traditionally the last Thursday of the month),
the Association at fundraising and special events, and maintain the
portfolio specific to their duties assigned. Basketball Manitoba's
current Board Members are...




President - Joe DiCurzio

Joe has been an active member of the basketball community for years as
both an administrator and a coach. Joe coordinates the Winnipeg
Invitational Tournament every winter at Tec Voc High School, where he
is also a teacher. The WIT is one of Canada's largest and most
prestigious high school basketball tournaments. He also actively
coaches a girls club basketball team in Winnipeg.



Vice President & Director of High Performance - Rick Horaska

Rick is currently the Vice Principal at Elmwood High
School and has been involved in the Basketball .
community for many years as an athlete, coach, and Basketball Manitoba Board
Member. He, and wife Maureen, have two sons, Keith and James. James is currently a member
of the University
of Winnipeg Wesmen Men’s
Basketball Team.



Treasurer - Barry Draward 

is an active parent
with children in the Basketball Manitoba, Winnipeg Minor Basketball and
school basketball programs. He also serves on the WMBA as its
Treasurer and has done so since 2002. He brings a wealth of
administrative and financial knowledge to Basketball Manitoba.



Director - Rod Peppler

As a veteran official, Rod oversees the development and operations of
Manitoba's basketball referees. Along with the Manitoba Association of
Basketball Officials, Rod has be instrumental in creating and growing
the Junior Officials Development Program and is also the backbone to
Basketball Manitoba's Officials Clinic Program which both run during
the basketball season.



Director - Ang Epp

Angela is a former player with the University of Winnipeg. She has
continued to be involved as a player in senior women’s league, and with
the Winnipeg Police Service Basketball Team. She has been involved with
coaching at WMBA, junior high, club team and high school organizations.
She is a big supporter of the women’s university programs as a fan and
a parent.



Director - Murray Hamm

has coached and administered high school basketball in Selkirk for many years.
He was actively involved in the basketball venue of the Pan Am games and was
Chair of Volunteers at the 2003 Western Canada Summer Games. He is currently
the Principal of Ecole Selkirk Junior High in Selkirk. Murray, his wife Janice
and 2 children live in Selkirk.



Director - Randy Kusano

Randy is a long time Varsity Boys coach and teacher at Oak Park High
School. Over the years, Randy has coached & played at a variety of
levels including university, provincial team and high school. He brings
a wealth of knowlege and basketball experience to the Board!



Director - Jana Taylor

Jana Taylor is currently employed as legal counsel for the provincial
government, she brings a keen mind to the Board along with her
extensive experience in the sport. Jana was a member of the 1994 MHSAA
provincial championship team at John Taylor Collegiate where she was
selected as the Carl Ridd Award winner and an All-Manitoban in her
graduating year. She participated as a Provincial Team member and went
on to a 5 year career with the University of Manitoba Bisons,
where she was a member of 2 national championship teams. Since her
graduation in 1999, she has coached at John Taylor Collegiate where she
was a co-coach of the 2005 MHSAA provincial championship team. She has
also been a member of provincial championship teams in fastball and



Director - Bryan Gray

Bryan played his basketball at the University of Manitoba
and has an extensive history of coaching the game at all levels. He
has coached a number of boys and girls teams in the WMBA since its inception in 1997 at both the
community club and district level and was named its coach of the year
in 2006. He is also the co-founder of the Junior Bison Boys Club
Basketball program where is still an active coach.



Director - Don Lamont

Don, a nationally recognized outdoor communicator, has played, coached
and refereed basketball in Manitoba at all levels including university.
He has coached a number of WMBA and District teams since 2000 and is
currently in his fifth year of involvement with the Junior Bison Boys
Basketball program.



Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...