The Manitoba Foundation for Sports through Sport Manitoba has announced
23 student athletes will receive scholarships totaling $17,500 for the
2007/08 academic year. Of the 23 recipients, 4 of them are basketball athletes.  The Manitoba Foundation for Sports Scholarship
Program supports young athletes of Sport Manitoba partners who
participate in amateur sport while pursuing a post secondary education
on a full time basis. This year's recipients represent 11 high schools,
three universities and nine sports.


11 student athletes entering the first year of a post secondary program will receive $500 scholarships. 12 student athletes entering the second or subsequent year of a post secondary program will receive $1,000 scholarships.

The emphasis of the Manitoba Foundation for Sports Scholarships is placed on athletes who have competed at the provincial level or higher in the previous year and who have maintained a high level of academic standing. Applicants must also demonstrate a commitment to amateur sport through their involvement in coaching, officiating and volunteer activities. Preference is given to students continuing their post secondary studies in Manitoba.

The Manitoba Foundation for Sports Scholarship Program was established in 1992. The Foundation has since awarded 880 scholarships totaling $683,417.

A list of this year's scholarship recipients follows.

$500 Scholarship Recipients

  • Kendra Baker - West Kildonan Collegiate (Athletics)

  • Caity Collins - College Churchill High School (Basketball)

  • Riley Draward - Silver Heights Collegiate (Basketball)

  • Kevin Hayes - St. Paul's High School (Football)

  • Chelsea Hudson - College Jean Sauve (Volleyball)

  • Jaime Lacoste - Glenlawn Collegiate Institute (Soccer)

  • Kristen Mackie - Roseau Valley School, Emerson (Athletics)

  • Greg Miller - Kelvin High School (Athletics)

  • Rosemary Mills - Westwood Collegiate (Basketball)

  • Ryan Munt - Miles Macdonell Collegiate (Volleyball)

  • Blair Peters - Vincent Massey Collegiate (Triathlon)

$1,000 Scholarship Recipients

  • Alan Ahow - University of Winnipeg (Volleyball)

  • Dana Baker - College Universitaire de Saint-Boniface (Athletics)

  • Willie Bell - University of Manitoba (Triathlon/Duathlon)

  • Katherine Davidson - University of Manitoba (Volleyball)

  • Justin Duff - University of Winnipeg (Volleyball)

  • Benjamin Fultz - University of Winnipeg (Badminton)

  • Nichole Mailey - University of Manitoba (Squash)

  • Caley Miskimmin - University of Manitoba (Ringette)

  • Matthew Opalko - University of Winnipeg (Basketball)

  • David Snider - University of Manitoba (Badminton)

  • Deondra Twerdun - University of Manitoba (Athletics)

  • Ashley Voth - University of Manitoba – (Volleyball)


- 30 -

For more information please contact:

Laurel Read

Manitoba Foundatoon for Sports



Barry Moroz

Sport Manitoba Communications


Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...