The Manitoba Sportswriters and Sportscasters are seeking nominations for its annual selection of Manitoba's Athletes and Teams of the Year, plus the MSSA Jack Matheson and Ron Meyers Memorial Awards.

They are also requesting your support and purchase of tickets for the 60th annual Athletes of the Year dinner, to be held on Friday, January 22nd, 2016, to honour our athletes.  Mark Chipman will be the Guest Speaker, and Dennis Beyak the Master of Ceremonies.

The MSSA will be conducting media selections for the 2015 Male and Female Athletes of the Year, Team of the Year, the Jack Wells Impact Award (for the event or individual having the largest impact on the Manitoba sports scene), and the Dallis Beck Good Guy/Gal Award (for an individual providing help and exceptional assistance to the media).

Nominations also are open for the Matheson awards in support of post-secondary students intent on a career in sportswriting, sportscasting, sports public relations or sports production. To apply, students must be enrolled at a Manitoba college or university, or be a Manitoba resident enrolled at a recognized institution outside the province.  The deadline for applications to be submitted this year is December 4th.

With a deadline of November 30th, 2015, we now are accepting nominations for Athletes and Team of the Year.  We invite your responses, and request that this info be forwarded to candidates or sports organizations.  The recipients will be declared at the aforementioned 60th Athletes of the Year dinner on January 22nd, 2016, at the Delta Winnipeg Hotel.  Please send nominations to:

Glen Dawkins
Winnipeg Sun Sports
Phone -- (204) 632-2605
E-mail --
Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...