The University of Winnipeg Wesmen have announced that 5th year women's basketball player Stephanie Kleysen has been chosen as the 2014-2015 University of Winnipeg Wesmen Female Athletes of the Year. The announcement was made this evening at the annual Wesmen Athletic Awards Banquet held at the Radisson Hotel.

Female Athlete of the Year - Stephanie Kleysen
Kleysen recently completed her fifth and final season as a member of the University of Winnipeg Women’s Basketball program. She was named the Canada West Women’s Basketball Defensive Player of the Year as well as being named a Canada West Women’s Basketball Second Team All-Star. She finished among the league leaders in both offensive and defensive categories during the 2014-2015 Canada West regular season.  Kleysen placed eighth in Canada West scoring averaging 16.3 ppg, second in three-point field goal percentage (45.3) in addition to grabbing 6.7 rebounds per game and dishing out 3.2 assists. On defense she averaged 2.8 steals per game (third in the conference), while anchoring the suffocating Wesmen defense that forced 23 turnovers per game, second-best in the league. She was selected as the Lea Marc Printing Wesmen Female Athlete of the Month for October and was named the Wesmen Garbonzo’s Female Player of the Week two times.

Male Athlete of the Year – Finn Higgins
Higgins was nothing short of impressive in his first season as a member of the Wesmen Men’s Wrestling Program. Higgins was named a First Team All-Canadian and captured the gold medal in the 90 kg weight class at the 2015 CIS Wrestling Championships earlier this month in Edmonton. He won the gold medal at the Canada West Wrestling Championships at the end of February and finished the season undefeated winning five gold medals in Canada West competitions during the regular season. He was selected as the Most Outstanding Male Wrestler at the University of Saskatchewan Huskies Invitational back in November. He was selected as the Lea Marc Printing Wesmen Male Athlete of the Month for February and was named the Wesmen Garbonzo’s Male Player of the Week two times.

Complete List of Award Winners:

University of Winnipeg Male and Female Athletes of the Year:

  • Stephanie Kleysen (Women’s Basketball) – Female Athlete of the Year
  • Finn Higgins (Men’s Wrestling) – Male Athlete of the Year

Team MVP’s

  • Stephanie Kleysen  - Women’s Basketball
  • Jelane Pryce - Men’s Basketball
  • Sonia Rossy - Women’s Volleyball
  • Thomas Douglas – Powell - Men’s Volleyball
  • Braeden Hidalgo-Mazzei- Men’s Soccer
  • Danielle Bulloch - Women’s Soccer
  • Cean Bod-oy - Men’s Wrestling
  • Rachel Alder - Women’s Wrestling
  • James Zamko - Men's Baseball
  • Stephen Ralko - MCAC Men’s Basketball
  • Roberta Schoenfeld - MCAC Women’s Basketball
  • Kelsey Lacroix - MCAC Women’s Volleyball

Keith Cooper Memorial Award (Excellence in Community Services):

  • Stephanie Kleysen (Women’s Basketball)
  • Dustin Ross (Men’s Volleyball)

Dave Anderson Award (Outstanding Service in the Advancement of Athletics):

  • Sal Infantino (Local Restaurant Owner, Sponsor, Booster )

Tom Kendall Award (Excellence in Academics and Athletics):

  • Allison Baergen – (Women’s Soccer)

Bill Wedlake Most Improved Players Award:

  • David Bommersbach (Men’s Volleyball)
  • Tia Boroski (Women’s Volleyball)

Radisson Rookies of the Year:

  • Shawn Pallister (Women’s Basketball)
  • Denzel Lynch-Blair (Men’s Basketball)

Academic All-Canadians
26 student athletes were recognized as Academic All-Canadians for the 2013-2014 academic year. In order to gain this status a student athlete must finish the academic year with an overall grade point average of 3.5 or better. Those recognized is as follows:

  • Women’s Soccer: Allison Baergen, Janelle Deniset, Rachel Dunsmore, Andrea Angioli, Alanna Johnson, Stephanee Ophey
  • Women’s Basketball: Alyssa Grant, Taylor Thorkelsson, Megan Noonan, Kerri Kuzbyt, Stephanie Kleysen
  • Men’s Soccer: Arber Hashanin, Ryan Ramjiawan, Joshua Partaker, Eric Smith, Yiannis Tsalatsidis
  • Men’s Volleyball: Logan Brennan, Nicholas McCaughan, Thomas Douglas-Powell, Michael Bommersbach, Riley Delavau
  • Women’s Volleyball: Carleen Kruschel, Alyssa Kidd, Tia Boroski
  • Men’s Basketball: Travis Krahn, Jamar Farley

Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...