TICKETS AVAILABLE: Coaching Manitoba has announced the finalists for the 2015 Coaching Manitoba IMPACT Awards presented by Manitoba Liquor & Lotteries.  Basketball coaches who have been named as finalists include Manitoba Provincial Team Coaches and national gold medalists Tanya McKay and Dan Becker, national women's wheelchair coach Bill Johnson, AAAA High School Champion Stacy Hawash of Vincent Massey, WMBA Coach of the Year Peter Robertson-Stovel and high school basketball coaches Daryl Loeppky and Jim Hamilton along with Carey Lasuik & Terry Beazley in the Years of Service category.

The event will be held Saturday April 25th, 10:00 am at the Club Regent Event Centre.  This annual event was established to celebrate Manitoba’s best coaches and acknowledge the outstanding contributions they have made to their athletes and sport over a number of years.

“Coaches play an integral part of the amateur sport system while making a valuable contribution to the community,” said Jeff Hnatiuk, President & CEO, Sport Manitoba. “They serve as role models and teachers for our youth, and their efforts are worthy of honour and recognition.”

“We are tremendously proud to sponsor this year’s Coaching Manitoba Impact Awards,” says John Stinson, CEO, Manitoba Liquor and Lotteries. “Volunteer coaches are the heart and soul of amateur sport and we are thrilled to be part of the thank you to these selfless men and women”.

Sport Manitoba will also honour Manitoba coaches who have coached at International Events in the previous year as well as individuals who have been coaching a minimum of 25 years in the province.  The full list of finalists include...

Active Start (Vince Leah Memorial Award)
William (Bill) GendronSpeed Skating
Curt BrandtBaseball
David L.R. MuswaggonSoftball
Ron PelletierBiathlon
Sarah Murkin-DebeuckelaereFigure Skating/Synchronized Skating
Peter Robertson-StovelBasketball
Learn to Train - Train to Train (Dr. Jack Hunt Memorial Award)
Carolyn CameronFigure Skating
Brent LohmerSpecial Olympics Manitoba - Powerlifting
Blaine BoyleBaseball
Cole GrantWaterski
Dan BeckerBasketball
Dave LittleLacrosse
Grace BoydSpeed Skating
Iga ZiendalskiSwimming
Lindsay ArgueCycling
Train to Compete - Train to Win (Peter Williamson Memorial Award)
Ashely Van AggelenHockey
Bill JohnsonWheelchair Basketball
Brigitte SmutnySailing
Janet ArnottCurling
Lorie HendersonArtistic Gymnastics
Michelle DewynTrampoline, Tumbling, Double Mini Trampoline
Ming Pu WuAthletics
Remmelt ElderingSpeed Skating
Rob DenekaRifle
Shauna FranchewskiTenpin Bowling
Tanya McKayBasketball
Tom ClasperCurling
Tony NocitaSoccer
Wendy ShewchukSwimming
School System (Peter Dick Award)
Daryl LoeppkyBasketball
Jim HamiltonBasketball
Eric VincentMulti-Sport
Peter GerlingerHockey
Stacy HawashBasketball
Shaw Media/Global News Active for Life Coach
Joe WiwcharBaseball/Hockey
Investors Group NCCP Coach Developer Award
Jim GosmanLearning Facilitator

The  IMPACT Female and Male Coach of the Year award presented by Manitoba Liquor & Lotteries will also be announced on April 25 at the Sport Manitoba's Night of Champions presented by Manitoba Chicken Producers.

“Good coaches build better people!”

Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...