TORONTO, ON – Canada Basketball announced today its supporting partnership for the inaugural BioSteel All Canadian Basketball Game (ACBG), a high school all-star game taking place on April 14, 2015 at the Air Canada Centre in Toronto.  Basketball Manitoba's Dan Becker is part of the national all-star selection committee.

“We’re excited to support the BioSteel All Canadian event. It’s a great opportunity to foster alignment within our national structure and bring the Canadian basketball community together,” said Michele O’Keefe, Executive Director, Canada Basketball.

The event will feature the top 24 under 18 male athletes (born 1996 or later) who are either Canadian-born or enrolled in a Canadian institution. The top 24 will come to Toronto to work with Canadian coaches and trainers in a series of events, including: on-and-off court training, community outreach, skills competitions and the all-star game.

“BioSteel is committed to growing the game of basketball in Canada and we created this game as a platform to celebrate the talent we have across our country,” said John Celenza, President of BioSteel. “We’re pleased to be working with Canada Basketball on this new initiative and look forward to showing the world what we have to offer.”

A truly Canadian event; provinces and territories will be represented throughout the years, either with a seat on the selection committee or through athlete, coach and high performance staff participation.

“The fact that a game of this nature is taking place in Canada, supported by a great Canadian company like BioSteel and Canada Basketball, is a testament to the growth and popularity of the game, as well as the depth of talent we have in this country,” said Jesse Tipping, Executive Director of the BioSteel All Canadian Basketball Game.

The athletes will be chosen by an 11-person selection committee, led by Tony McIntyre, the ACBG Operations Director and Selection Committee Chairman. The committee is comprised of a cross-section of Canadian basketball stakeholders, including provincial/territorial representatives, clubs, coaches and scouts from across the country.

2015 Selection Committee Members:

  • Pasha Bains, Drive Basketball (BC)
  • Mark Bairos, Canadian Ballers (ON)
  • Dan Becker, Basketball Manitoba (MB)
  • Drew Ebanks, OnPoint Basketball (ON)
  • Barry Hayes, Hoopstars Canada (ON)
  • Brandon Lesovsky, Athlete Institute Prep (ON)
  • Michael Meeks, Canada Basketball
  • Joey McKitterick, Brookwood Elite (QC)
  • Devon Norris, Basketball Nova Scotia (NS)
  • Paul Sir, Basketball Alberta (AB)
  • Lindsay Walsh, Basketball Ontario (ON)

Committee members must be active in the Canadian basketball landscape through the provincial, AAU, high school, collegiate or national levels and have an active following in their respective area. Members may contribute for two consecutive years and then be one year removed before being selected again.

The committee will compile a top 50 consensus list from major Canadian recruiting and high school publications. The list will then be voted down to 36 by the committee and added to a final selection ballet, ultimately finalizing a list of 24 athletes. The top 24 will include: four sophomores, four Canadians attending US prep schools and 16 players registered in Canadian High Schools.

A finalized schedule of events and ticket information will be available in the coming weeks. For more information visit or connect socially with @BioSteelAllCdn on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...