The sport of basketball was very well represented today at the Sport for Life Centre where $25,000 in academic scholarships were presented to fifteen high school students, seven university students, and four Manitoba coaches (26 total). The presentations included the Manitoba Foundation for Sport Scholarships, Milt Stegall Scholarships, Bud Tinsley Sport Leadership Scholarship, Coaching Manitoba Bursaries, and Princess Royal Pan Am Scholarships.

Pictured (L-R) Tiara Licsi, Alyssa Grant & Kerry Friesen

This year the Manitoba Foundation for Sports scholarships (MFFS) recognized the exceptional achievements of 21 student athletes. These athletes represent six towns/cities and 18 different sports. 

2014-15 Scholarship Recipients

Paul Robson, Chair Manitoba Foundation for Sports, Past Chair Sport Manitoba

$500 High School Scholarship Recipients:
Post-Secondary School
Chelsea Dubiel
University of Manitoba
Chad Enns
Track, Volleyball
University of Manitoba
Liam Grier
Volleyball, Baseball
University of Winnipeg
Easton Gryba
Basketball, Volleyball
Brandon University
Jessica Gundrum
Track, X-C Ski, Curling, Badminton
University of Manitoba
Hannah Guttormson
University of Manitoba
Alisha Kaegi
Judo, Wrestling
University of Winnipeg
Lindsey Kent
Indoor & Outdoor Track, Speed Skater
University of Manitoba
Montana Kinzel
Basketball, Volleyball, Track, X-C Ski
University of Manitoba
Tiara Licsi
Basketball, Rugby, Track
Canadian Mennonite Univ
Zachary Myers
Hockey, Wakeboarding
University of Manitoba
Shawn Pallister
Basketball, Cross Country Ski, Volleyball
University of Winnipeg
Justin Ramgotra
Wrestling, Football, Rugby
University of Winnipeg
Tegan Turner
Track & field, Gymnastics
University of Manitoba
Nikki Majewski
Basketball, Volleyball, Track & Field
Brandon University

Tiara Licsi, Basketball Rugby, Track, CMU

$1000 University Scholarship Recipients

Post-Secondary School
Amir Ali
University of Manitoba
Eric Guy
University of Manitoba
Joel Makara
Brandon University
Eric Mazur
University of Winnipeg
Taylor Pischke
University of Manitoba
Milana Schipper
University of Manitoba

Milt Stegall Scholarships
This scholarship increases the awards for the top graduating high school student entering a post-secondary institution to $1000, and the top student in their second or subsequent year in a post-secondary institution to $2000. Recipients of this year’s two Milt Stegall scholarships have been selected from today’s Foundation scholarship recipients.

Milt Stegall, Winnipeg Blue Bomber Alumni


  • High School – Chad Enns - additional $500
  • University - Taylor Pischke - additional $1000

Bud Tinsley Sport Leadership Scholarship
This scholarship was created in 2012 in memory of Robert (Bud) Tinsley, by his family and friends. The scholarship recipient is selected from among the Manitoba Foundation for Sport scholarship recipients, based on the added criteria of leadership. 

Cindy Tinsley, Daughter

Eric Guy - additional $500

Coaching Manitoba Bursaries
One male and one female each from Winnipeg and Rural Manitoba received a $500 bursary to be used toward their 2014-2015 tuition. The bursaries have been named after two special coaches in Manitoba: Silvio Sboto and Jeff Collins.

Sheldon Reynolds, Coach Education Coordinator, Sport Manitoba

Silvio Sboto Memorial Rural Coach Award Female: Ryann Lewis - Brandon, gymnastics
Silvio Sboto Memorial Rural Coach Award Male: Kerry Friesen – Steinbach, basketball
Jeff Collins Memorial Winnipeg Coach Award Female: Alyssa Grant - basketball
Jeff Collins Memorial Winnipeg Coach Award Male: Taran Barrett - gymnastics

Kerry Friesen – Steinbach, basketball

Alyssa Grant - basketball

Princess Royal Pan Am Scholarships
One male and one female high performance athlete enrolled in a post-secondary institution in Manitoba each received $3,000 today.

Paul Robson, Manitoba Foundation for Sports Board Member, Past Chair Sport Manitoba

Female: Taylor Pischke, University of Manitoba, volleyball 
Male: Daniel Grant, University of Manitoba, curling

Link to photo album

Sport Manitoba is a not for profit organization and the lead planning, programming and funding agency for the development of amateur sport in Manitoba. Located in the Sport for Life Centre, Sport Manitoba partners with over 100 organizations to deliver sport in our province and is responsible for programs including the Power Smart Manitoba Games, Coaching Manitoba, Team Manitoba, Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame, Fit Kids Healthy Kids, and KidSport. Services provided include the Sport Medicine Centre, Sport Performance Centre, and Sport Resource Centre.

The Manitoba Foundation for Sports Scholarship program administered by Sport Manitoba was established to support young athletes of Sport Manitoba partners, who continue to participate in amateur sport while pursuing a post-secondary education on a full time basis. The Manitoba Foundation for Sports Scholarship Program was established in 1992. The top applicant in each category is awarded the Milt Stegall Scholarship.

Bud Tinsley Sport Leadership Scholarship: In memory of Robert (Bud) Tinsley, his family and friends created a $500 scholarship to recognize a Manitoba student athlete who demonstrates similar leadership traits that were attributable to Bud. His numerous awards included: induction into the Winnipeg Blue Bombers Hall of Fame, the CFL Hall of Fame and four time inductee into the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame. The scholarship recipient is selected from among the Manitoba Foundation for Sport scholarship recipients, based on the added criteria of leadership.

Princess Royal Pan Am Scholarship Endowment Fund provides financial support for Manitoba's high performance athletes in their pursuit of excellence at the national and international levels of competition while serving as a tribute to commemorate the Manitoba visit of Her Royal Highness the Princess Royal in 1999. The Princess Royal Pan Am Scholarship awards two (2) scholarships per year valued up to $3,000 each to one male and one female high performance athlete enrolled in a post-secondary institution in Manitoba.

Silvio Sboto Memorial Rural Coach Award: Silvio Sboto was a dedicated and humble man who started learning judo in the late 50s after immigrating to Canada from his native Peru. He resided in Brandon for the last thirty years where he worked at the Seikeikan Judo Club. Silvio was the chair of the National Coaching Certification Program (NCCP) for Judo Canada. Silvio spent 10 years as an NCCP Theory Course Conductor and attained Level 4 NCCP status. He also had his 5th degree black belt and was a national ‘C’ referee in Judo.

Jeff Collins Memorial Winnipeg Coach Award: Jeff Collins’ expertise earned him a reputation as a coach’s coach. Jeff served as head coach and clinician for the Legion Athletic Camps at the International Peach Garden for 32 years. He was the convenor and co-meet director of the MHSAA’s provincial track and field champs from 1984 to 2001. Jeff attained his level 3 NCCP and also worked with world class special needs athletes. In 2003, Jeff was inducted to the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame.

Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...