Ted StoeszThe Manitoba High Schools Athletic Association has announced its Hall of Fame Class of 2014.  Athletes to be inducted include Susan (Boroski) Bodie of River East Collegiate (High School Basketball, Badminton and Track), Lesley (Hanford) Lee of  Vincent Massey Collegiate (High School Volleyball, Basketball, Track), Ted Stoesz of  Dakota (Basketball, Volleyball, Track, and Badminton), Greg Haydenluck of Arthur Meighen in Portage La Prairie (High School track and pole vaul), and Bobsleigh Olympian), and Sami Jo Small of College Jeanne Sauve (High School volleyball, badminton, javelin, shot put and discus, and two time gold medalist in hockey at the Olympics).

Builders are long time basketball coach Dave McNabb of Vincent Massey (Winnipeg) with six (6) Provincial Championships, James Harrison, Volleyball and basketball coach at Miles MacDonnell, with ten (10) Provincial Championships  and Fred Kelesnik, volleyball coach and former MHSAA board member and two (2) Provincial championships  at Morris School.

The team which will be inducted this year is the Miles MacDonnell ladies curling team from 1970- 72 that captured three (3) Provincial High School titles.  The 1970 team consisted of Maureen Jackson (skip), Cathy Pidzarko, Chris Pidzarko and Margaret Sader.  The 1971 team members were Maureen Jackson (skip), Chris Pidzarko, Cathy Pidzarko and Gaye Birchall, while the 1972 Provincial Championship team was made up of Chris Pidzarko (skip), Cathy Pidzarko, Janet Walker and Linda Walker.

The Induction will take place on Saturday May 10 at the Holiday Inn south.  Ticket information is available at 204 925-5640 or info@mhsaa.ca
Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...