The Manitoba Basketball Hall of Fame's Class of 2013 was unveiled Tuesday: player inductees are (L-R) Dan Becker, Norm Froemel, Joey Johnson and Anne Smith.The Manitoba Basketball Hall of Fame today formally announced the induction Class of 2013 at its Museum located at the University of Winnipeg Duckworth Centre.   In the Player category, new inductees include Dan Becker, Norm Froemel, Joey Johnson and Anne Smith (photo credit Ken Gigliotti, Winnipeg Free Press).  Clyde Perry along with Russ Roney will be added to the Builder category and the Team category sees additions from the Glenlawn Lions Varsity Girls program of the late 1960's and the Brandon Vincent Massey Varsity Boys teams from the late 1960's / early 1970's.  2013 marks the 30th Anniversary of the Manitoba Basketball Hall of Fame with the official induction ceremony taking place on Saturday, October 5, 2013 at the Victoria Inn in Winnipeg.  For details on each inductee... 

Manitoba Basketball Hall of Fame







The Manitoba Basketball Hall of Fame's Class of 2013 was unveiled Tuesday: player inductees are (L-R) Dan Becker, Norm Froemel, Joey Johnson and Anne Smith. 





  • Dan Becker – Fort Richmond Collegiate ; University of Colorado (NCAA Division 1) 1986-89 ; Big 8 International Select Team ; Canadian National Team 1984, 1989 & 1995 ; member of Winnipeg Cyclone and Winnipeg Thunder pro teams ; other professional teams in Australia, Israel, Finland, Spain and Portugal

  • Norm Froemel – J. H. Bruns Collegiate ; University of Winnipeg Wesmen 1990-95 ; four-time GPAC All-Star and CIS All-Canadian in 1994-95 ; all-time Wesmen leader in rebounding and percentage shooting ; six year professional career in Germany 

  • Joey Johnson – three-time Paralympic Gold Medalist in 2000, 2004 & 2012 ; Silver Medalist in 2008 ; World Championships Gold Medal in 2006  ; All-American at the University of Wisconsin (Whitewater) ; multiple European pro championships in Germany 

  • Anne Smith – played high school in Quebec ; University of Manitoba Bisons 1995-2001 ; CIS All-Rookie team in 1996 ; 3-time CIS All-Canadian in 1997-98, 1998 99 & 2000-01 ; CIS National Player of the Year (Nan Copp Award) in 1997-98 ; member of two Bison CIS national championship teams  



  • Clyde Perry – started as a coach at King Edward School in 1953; coached at Isaac Newton and Sisler ; long-time referee ; a founder of the Winnipeg Invitational Tournament (WIT) in 1976 ; Mike Spack Award winner in 1985 ; school administrator who helped build successful high school programs 

  • Russ Roney – coached the Brandon Y Queens 1955-58 ; 44 years as a basketball official in southwestern Manitoba (1946-90) ; founder of the Westman Basketball Officials Association in 1968 ; member of the International Association of Basketball Officials (IABO) 1968-90 ; Westman officials assignor and clinician 1968-89   



  • Glenlawn High School Lions Varsity Girls – MHSAA Provincial Champions 1962, 1965 and 1966 ; Pre-Classification era

  • Vincent Massey  High School (Brandon) Vikings Varsity Boys – MHSAA Provincial ‘AA’ Provincial Champions 1969, 1970 and 1971


More information is available from Ross Wedlake at (204) 668-9494 or


For more information on the Manitoba Basketball Hall of Fame and Museum, please go to


More on the News Coverage on the Hall Induction Announcement...



Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...