The Manitoba High Schools Athletic Association has honoured eight young athletes across the province for their performance and accomplishments, including many who played basketball this past season.

The 2012 Jostens High School Athletes of the Year, announced on Wednesday, were chosen in each of four categories based on the size of their schools:

A schools — rural schools with fewer than 125 students:

Female: Sarah Gobin of St. Claude School Complex

Male: Bryce Watson of Glenboro School


AA schools — Winnipeg schools with fewer than 100 students and rural schools with 125 to 300 students:

Female: Nicole Murray of Teulon Collegiate

Male: Wyatt Eyford of Warren Collegiate


AAA schools — Winnipeg schools with 100-500 students and most rural schools with more than 300 students:

Female: Allison Baergen of Westgate Mennonite Collegiate

Male: Quinn Thacker of Dauphin Regional School


AAAA schools — Winnipeg schools with more than 500 students and high schools in Brandon, Steinbach, Springfield, Stonewall, Winkler and Portage la Prairie.

Female: Kerri Kuzbyt of Sisler High School

Male: Casey Schouten of Miles Macdonell Collegiate


Kuzbyt and Watson were chosen as the association’s overall high school athletes of the year in the province.


Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...