The Manitoba Basketball Coaches Association (MBCA)
today announced at the All-Manitoba Banquet those honored as
All-Manitobans, Players of the Year, Coaches of the Year, Carl Ridd,
Mike Spack and Jim Bulloch Awards along with special recognition and
service awards. Those honored for an outstanding basketball season


2009 MBCA Awards             PHOTO GALLERY


The MBCA proudly presents the All-Manitoba Teams, Players of the Year,
Coaches of the Year, Special Recognition Awards and Coaching Service
Awards to those who have excelled on the basketball court at the high
school level this past season.




Game Results from 2009 Manitoba Basketball Coaches Association All-Star Games from St. Paul'a High School.

A-AAA Girls Game

North 58  South 40

Top Scorers

Chantal Gaslard (RD Parker) - 14 Points

Dallas Buhr (St. Norbert) - 12 points

Players of the Game

South - Dallas Buhr

North - Jillian Overby

A-AAA Boys Game

East 101  West 83

Top Scorers

Kevin Oman (U of Wpg Collegiate) - 19 points

James Elias (Morden), Geoff Hubbard (Warren) - 16 points

Players of the Game

East - Shane Gibbons

West - James Elias

AAAA Girls Game

South 65  North 61

Top Scorers

Danielle Degagne (Crocus Plains) - 26 points

Danielle Baril (Vincent Massey) - 13 points

Players of the Game

North - Danielle Degagne

South - Tia Ruddock


AAAA Boys Game

North 111 South 91

Top Scorers

Jarred Ogungbemi-Jackson (Garden City), Chad Posthumus (River East) - 18 points

Diende Olude (Vincent Massey) - 19 points

Players of the Game

South - Cam Norrie

North - Jarred Ogungbemi-Jackson  


AAAA AWARDS                                   

Male Player of the Year:        

  • Jared Ogungbemi-Jackson – Garden City


Male All-Manitoba Team:    

  • Philip Labongo – Dakota Collegiate

  • Brayden Duff – Garden City Collegiate

  • Chad Posthumus – River East Collegiate

  • Pawel Gacon – St. Paul’s High School

  • Cam Norrie – St. Paul’s High School

Female Player of the Year:

  • Danielle DeGagne – Crocus Plains

Female All-Manitoba Team:        

  • Danielle Baril – Vincent Massey

  • Cheryl Paranque – Sisler                 

  • Alyssa Grant – Oak Park

  • Stephanie Kleysen – Vincent Massey

  • Tia Coulter – Crocus Plains

Male Coach of the Year:

  • Jeff Laping – St. Paul’s High School

Female Coach of the Year:

  • Stacy Hawash – Vincent Massey Collegiate

Coach of the Year – Open Category:         

  • Sokrorn Chhoeun



The Carl Ridd Award annually recognizes one graduating male and one
graduating female basketball player who excels on the basketball court,
in the classroom and is heavily involved in the community.


Male Carl Ridd Award: 

  • Cam Norrie – St. Paul’s

Female Carl Ridd Award:         

  • Alyssa Grant – Oak Park 



The MBCA Bursary Award is presented annually to an athlete(s) who
excelled on and off the court and pursuing a post-secondary education
next year.



2009 MBCA Bursary Award Recipients

  • Tia Ruddock – Grant Park

  • Brayden Duff – Garden City



A Male Player of the Year:        

  • Jordan Lounsbury - Treherne

AA Male Player of the Year:        

  • Bobby Neufeld – Goose Lake

AAA Male Player of the Year:      

  • Kevin Oman – University of Wpg Collegiate

A Female Player of the Year:     

  • Ashleigh Cullen – Glenboro

AA Female Player of the Year:     

  • Jillian Overby - Teulon

AAA Female Player of the Year:     

  • Dallas Buhr - St. Norbert


A/AA/AAA Male All-Manitoba Teams:

1st Team:   

  • KC Asagwara - St. Norbert

  • Travis Hradowy - Teulon

  • Matt Larivierre - Churchill

  • Michael Pankratz - Westgate

  • Jared Haasbeek - Glenboro

2nd Team    

  • Jacob Miller - Westgate

  • Jon Gallant - Dauphin

  • Ron Perepeluk - R.D. Parker

  • Given Isaac – Univ of Winnipeg Collegiate

  • Matthew Vauclair - Ste. Anne


A/AA/AAA Female All-Manitoba Teams:

1st Team    

  • Julie Paradine - Major Pratt

  • Cally Tinkess - Elton

  • Dominique Bouche- Neelin

  • Jenessa Karlowsky - Sanford

  • Autumn Jackson - Major Pratt

2nd Team    

  • Alex Warburton - Sanford

  • Britta Albrecht  - Neelin

  • Crystal Johnson - Teulon

  • Chantal Gaslard - RD Parker

  • Nicole Vestby - Swan Valley


AAA Male Coach of the Year:       

  • Karl Wiebe & Don Miller - Westgate Collegiate

AAA Female Coach of the Year:

  • Denis Marinelli & Colin Ritchie – St. Norbert Collegiate

AA Male Coach of the Year:

  • Yvan St. Vincent - Ste. Anne Collegiate

AA Female Coach of the Year:

  • Jason Darragh & Ken Overby – Teulon Collegiate

A Male Coach of the Year:        

  • Kelly Martin - Whitemouth School

A Female Coach of the Year:

  • Sharon Prost – Glenboro Collegiate



Urban Male Coach of the Year:        

  • Stephen Tackie – Sturgeon Heights

Urban Female Coach of the Year:    

  • Irwin Hildebrandt – River East

Rural Male Coach of the Year:        

  • Wes Braun - R.D. Parker Collegiate

Rural Female Coach of the Year:    

  • Kristin Donovan - R.D. Parker Collegiate



Male Coach of the Year:  

  • Ryan Isfeld & Chris Harbeck – Sargent Park

Female Coach of the Year:    

  • Dionne Williams – Arthur A. Leach School



The Jim Bulloch Award annually recognizes a basketball coach(es) with
financial support to allow them to upgrade his or her knowledge and
expertise in basketball which will directly impact on player and
program development (i.e. sponsorship to a major coaching clinic
outside of Manitoba).


Male Recipient:                    

  • Aaron Bruce – Warren Collegiate

Female Recipient:                

  • Michelle Hynes – Westgate Collegiate




The Mike Spack Award annually recognizes an individual who has made
significant contributions to the growth and development of basketball
in Manitoba over a sustained period of time.



2009 Mike Spack Award Recipient:

  • Anne Sisler – Pinawa

MBCA Special Award

  • Cyrus Lister – MABO

  • Scott Norris – MABO


MBCA Service Awards

  • 25 Years:    Keith Warner – Goose Lake (Roblin)

  • 20 Years:    Darren Roe – Neepawa Collegiate

  • 15 Years:    Dean Favoni – Dakota Collegiate

  • 15 Years:    Kirby Schepp – Sturgeon Heights

About the MBCA

We are an extremely active organization which...

  • organizes coaches clinics and seminars

  • organizes the Graduating All-Star Games and Banquet held traditionally in April

  • names the All-Manitoba Girls and Boys Teams

  • presents the Carl Ridd Award (to outstanding student athletes) the
    Mike Spack Award (for outstanding service to basketball) and the Jim
    Bulloch Coaching Award (scholarship) & Special Recognition Awards

  • presents the Coach of the Year Awards A, AA, AAA, AAAA, Junior Varsity and Junior High categories.

  • names the Player of the Year in A, AA, AAA and AAAA categories
    presents the WMBA Coach/Volunteer Award

MBCA's Mandate:

To coordinate the provision of coaching initiatives and innovations,
promote coaching for all Manitobans, advocate on behalf of coaches and
coaching, and ensure the delivery of NCCP in Manitoba.

The MBCA is dedicated to:

  1. The development of basketball and basketball coaches in Manitoba

  2. Providing a unified voice for coaches that have a positive influence on basketball.

  3. Recognizing the hard work of coaches and players throughout Manitoba.

For more information on the MBCA check out our Frequently Asked Questions

Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...