Top

  • News Ticker

    March 28, 2017

    Apply to Become a Torchbearer for the 2017 Canada Summer Games


    The Manitoba Hydro Torch Relay will journey over 3,500 kilometres through Manitoba and Northwestern Ontario igniting the spirit of youth and community along the way.  Ten to twenty torchbearers in each rural community and 50 torchbearers in Winnipeg will each carry the torch in 200 metre segments.

    Torch relays are scheduled in 11 communities:

    • Steinbach (Friday, June 23)
    • Kenora (Saturday, June 24)
    • Morden (Thursday, June 29)
    • Gillam, Fox Lake Cree Nation (Saturday, July 1)
    • Thompson (Thursday, July 6)
    • The Pas, Opaskawayak Cree Nation (Monday, July 10)
    • Dauphin (Tuesday, July 11)
    • Gimli (Saturday, July 15)
    • Brandon (Thursday, July 20)
    • Sagkeeng First Nation, Great Falls (date TBD)
    • Winnipeg (Wednesday, July 26)   

    Each community will have the opportunity to nominate torchbearers for their event. Community members can nominate a past or present resident of their community or themselves by completing the nomination form at http://www.canadagames.ca/2017

    Hurry!  Applications close on April 14, 2017.

    • Website Comments
    • Facebook Comments

    0 comments:

    Post a Comment

    Your feedback on this Basketball Manitoba article is welcome! Post your comments below and check back later to view other comments or replies!

    Item Reviewed: Apply to Become a Torchbearer for the 2017 Canada Summer Games Rating: 5 Reviewed By: Adam Wedlake
    Scroll to Top